Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pinhas, Richard: Chronolyse (vinyl reissue)

Here we have a vinyl reissue from Cuneiform of the 1976 recording from French electronic rock pioneer Richard Pinhas, his tribute to Frank Herbert's classic sci-fi novel 'Dune'. This special reissue, pressed on 180 gram white vinyl and featuring the original album artwork, celebrates Chronolyse's conception nearly 40 years ago as well as the 50th anniversary of 'Dune', the first volume of which was published in 1965.

With his band Heldon, Pinhas was at the forefront of combining searing rock guitar with electronic music, and with his fascination of the 'Dune' series he wanted to take things to another level. Purchasing a Moog P3 and Polymoog to go along with his two Revox A700s already installed in his home studio, he now had the collection of instruments he needed to create his vision of the 'Dune' world. Along with help from his Heldon bandmates Didier Batard (drums) and François Auger (bass), Chronolyse would begin to take shape. First featuring seven variations on "Sur Le Theme De Bene Gesserit", each one a short burst of meditative, bubbly synth flourishes & rhythms, the world of 'Dune' begins become a bit clearer. Drums and majestic synth patterns lead in "Duncan Idaho", most of which repeat for the six minute length, and the epic, 30-minute "Paul Atreides" closes things out, providing for the bulk of the music here on Chronolyse. This is where the real vision of what 'Dune' is all about in the mind of Pinhas really begins to appear, as spacey synths, sizzling lead guitar, haunting Mellotron, powerful drumming, and loads of chilling atmosphere completely envelope the listener.The final five minutes is actually quite creepy, overall an extremely well done piece of synth/electronic rock music.

Whether you are a fan of Herbert's 'Dune' book series, or just a lover of solid electronic rock/prog, Chronolyse is a potent miasma of sounds and textures, and a classic well deserving of this vinyl reissue.

Track Listing
1. Sur Le Theme De Bene Gesserit I 02:22
2. Sur Le Theme De Bene Gesserit II 02:16
3. Sur Le Theme De Bene Gesserit III 01:37
4. Sur Le Theme De Bene Gesserit IV 01:44
5. Sur Le Theme De Bene Gesserit V 01:36
6. Sur Le Theme De Bene Gesserit VI 02:06
7. Sur Le Theme De Bene Gesserit VII 04:34
8. Duncan Idaho 06:13
9. Paul Atreides 30:22

Added: December 27th 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist @ Bandcamp
Hits: 1547
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by