Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Undawn: Justice Is...

There is Melodic Metal-core storm a-brewing out of the Netherlands and it is in the form of the Dutch four piece outfit, Undawn. Their sophomore release is entitled, Justice Is...(Graviton Music) and it packs a wallop like an avalanche engulfing everything within its path. This 10 track onslaught is a Modern Metal thing of beauty combining melodic vocals with harsh rants that create a stunning dichotomy.

The concept behind Justice Is... is based on the attainment of what is just and the philosophical discussion of that which is just. Undawn tackle many different viewpoints and perspectives on Justice Is... including the concepts of moral correctness based on law, ethics and religion. Within these 10 songs, the question of what is justice is addressed in in the theme of each song. A cerebral topic, no doubt.

From the opening mounting tension of "Coming Home", Undawn explode throughout this rabidly maniacal Metal record. Filled with stunning guitar work, unrelenting crushing rhythms and that afore mentioned combination of clean and harsh vocal, Undawn are an excellent cross pollination of the staccato and crushing Canadian Metaller's Threat Signal and the Melodic Death Metal Godfather's, Soilwork. As a matter of fact, "Speed" Strid of Soilwork lends his canorous throat chords to the brutal, "Never Giving Up" that gives the song even more Metal authenticity.

Justice Is... is a Muthafu@ker of a record and will leave your already bleeding ears begging for more. It is filled with big thick melodies that swirl in your head, pulverizing riffing that just won't quit and grooves that are tenacious, as well as down right infectious! Melodic Death Metal, Metalcore or whatever you want to call Undawn, their future is quite bright. Listen to this one Cranked!

Track Listing
1. Coming Home
2. What Justice Is
3. In The Moment
4. The Bond of Brothers
5. Faceless
6. Moving On
7. Forever
8. Fate
9. Never Giving Up
10. The Puppets of Heresy

Added: December 23rd 2015
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1581
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by