Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Earthside: A Dream In Static

Brewing from the likes of New Haven, Connecticut emerges the textural flavoring of compositions steeped in cinematic and aural architecture, the brew-masters are called Earthside. Earthside have unearthed an 8 track self release entitled, A Dream In Static, that will stimulate the senses and color your musical palette with a vast delve into the emotive and Progressive. A Dream In Static features especially great performances by guest vocalists, Lajon Witherspoon of Sevendust, "Speed" Strid of Soilwork, Daniel Tompkins of TesseracT and Eric Zirlinger of Face The King, as well as the Moscow Studio Symphony Orchestra who lends their talents to help create an eclectic arsenal of world music influenced instrumentation.

The journey begins with the 8 minute opening instrumental, "The Closet I've Come", that begins quite unassuming and tranquil. A delayed guitar passage slides in on top of the bass and ambient soundscape that begins this track before the distorted chording begins. Sounds spiral and intertwine taking your mind through an adventure of the senses.

"Mob Mentality" features Lajon from Sevendust on vocals and the Moscow Studio Symphony Orchestra. Lajon delivers an excellent, heart felt performance, while the instrumental tension that the Orchestra adds is exciting, coupled with the moody and powerful song itself. Guitarist/Programmer, Jamie Van Dyck, scored the entire Orchestral arrangement for "Mob Mentality".

The title track, "A Dream In Static" features the soaring and passionate vocals of TesseracT's Daniel Tompkins, who is the perfect fit for this poignant exploration. Coupled with that spacious TesseracT feel to it, the song just bleeds emotion and strain in just the right balance. An excellent percussion performance is turned in by Ben Shanbrom, as well the inspired keyboards by Frank Sacramone.

Not to be outdone, the song "Crater" shines the light on bass player, Ryan Griffin, who lays down some awe-inspiring licks in the intro and then carries on throughout and passes the torch to the great guest vocals provided by Speed of Soilwork. "Crater" is both elegant and heavy and Speed's vocal melodies just take this song into the stratosphere without ever losing any of its power.

Earthside are a force to be reckoned with. This meticulously sounding self released record ranks up there with any Progressive Metal record released this year. A Dream In Static is brilliant, brilliant record made by four musicians each with a musical pedigree that is beyond impressive. If you like music within the realm of a TesseracT or a Scale The Summit, then you have just found your new obsession. A Dream In Static is a magnum opus of infinite proportions.

Track Listing
01. The Closest I've Come
02. Mob Mentality
03. A Dream in Static
04. Entering the Light
05. Skyline
06. Crater
07. The Ungrounding
08. Contemplation of the Beautiful

Added: January 2nd 2016
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 5150
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Earthside: A Dream In Static
Posted by Scott Jessup, SoT Staff Writer on 2016-01-02 17:19:13
My Score:

Here's one that may have passed you by in 2015 and it's from the band Earthside. Earthside are a diverse progressive group to take note of, performing a modern/cinematic style mixing rock and metal. This talented crew are from New England with a line-up of guitarist Jamie van Dyck, keyboardist Frank Sacramone, drummer Ben Shanbrom and Ryan Griffin on bass. A Dream In Static is the title of Earthside's first album, and it's not your average music release as there is nothing but high quality material on A Dream In Static making for one stunning album. A Dream In Static is part instrumental including the excellent extended first track "The Closest I've Come" as each of Earthside's members display their technical proficiency, "The Ungrounding" is another of the striking instrumental inclusions. For the remainder the band have recruited a number of notable lead vocalists. As a result of this A Dream In Static features numerous guest appearances and it's not just on the vocals there is also an orchestra amongst others:

The Vocalists:
Lajon Witherspoon (Sevendust)
Daniel Tompkins (Tesseract, ex-Skyharbor)
Bjorn Strid (Soilwork)
Eric Zirlinger (Face the King, ex-Seer)

Orchestra/Additonal Musicians:
The Moscow Studio Symphony Orchestra (MSSO)
Max ZT - Hammer Dulcimer
Henrik Gennert - Guitar Solo on "The Ungrounding"
JP Asplund - Percussion

The sweet sounding combination of actual not artificially substituted orchestral instruments and Earthside's progressive music is on track two "Mob Mentality" along with Sevendust's Lajon Witherspoon on vocals. All the tracks are winner here and one of the best is the album's shifting and powerful closer "Contemplation Of The Beautiful" presenting all that is great about this band. Earthside are offering something fresh sounding in a genre starved of just that, and speaking of sound the production of A Dream In Static is top notch. It's hard to believe that A Dream In Static is Earthside's first release, not only is it one of the best debuts of its kind A Dream In Static is also one of 2015's finest.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by