Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Savage: 7/Live n Lethal

Here's a great bang for your heavy metal buck, the new double album from NWOBHM legends Savage, titled 7/Live n Lethal. 7 is their brand new studio album, while Live n Lethal is a recently recorded live album where the band plays their entire 1983 debut album Loose N Lethal. Reportedly one of the many bands of the NWOBHM scene who greatly influenced Metallica, Savage drew their own inspiration from classic acts such as Thin Lizzy, UFO, Deep Purple, Queen, Wishbone Ash, and Led Zeppelin, mixing those vintage hard rock sounds with a metallic edge that became a springboard to a whole slew of bands from that era.

The studio album 7 is a solid collection of crunchy, vintage sounding metal anthems, such as the pounding "Super Spy", the hook laden "I Am the Law", and the heavy yet instantly memorable cuts "Lock n Load" and "Empire of Hate". "Circus of Fools" gallops along at a frantic pace, while "Crazy Horse" blends some modern stoner grooves & riffs for a totally different vibe. The band approaches thrash on the frantic "Speed Freak", and simply crush with melodic metal might on the majestic "Children of the Night". Some of the best riffs on the album can be heard on the rampaging "Shake the Tree", and there's a progressive edge to the lengthy "The Road to Avalon (Sins of the Fathers)" that adds another element to Savage's already impressive arsenal.

The live album features some upbeat, spirited renditions of classic tunes like "The Rage Within", "Black 'n' Blue", "The China Run", "Cry Wolf", and "Berlin", with massive riffage, screaming pinch harmonics, and blazing guitar solos flying all around. For those who didn't follow Savage back in the day, between the new studio album and the live versions of classic period songs, you have a very cool introduction here to an important but not a household name from the NWOBHM scene.

Track Listing
01 I Am the Law
02 Lock n Load
03 Empire of Hate
04 Super Spy
05 Circus of Fools
06 Crazy Horse
07 Speed Freak
08 The Road to Avalon (Sins of the Fathers)
09 Children of the Night
10 Paybacks a Bitch
11 Shake the Tree
12 Heads Will Roll
13 Prelude to Rage (Live)
14 The Rage Within (Live)
15 Black 'n' Blue (Live)
16 White Hot (Live)
17 The China Run (Live)
18 On the Rocks (Live)
19 Aint No Fit Place (Live)
20 Dirty Money (Live)
21 Berlin (Live)
22 Cry Wolf (Live)
23 Let It Loose (Live)
24 Smiling Assassin (Live)
25 We Got the Edge (Live)

Added: June 6th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1937
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Savage: 7/Live n Lethal
Posted by Steven Reid, SoT Staff Writer on 2016-06-05 18:38:05
My Score:

Right, OK, I'm not sure what's happened here, Live n Lethal a live album (as you've probably guessed!) from classic NWOBHM outfit Savage. However considering this album seems to come as part of a twin pack of the band's latest studio outing, 7 (no prizes for guessing how many studio albums the guys have…), how I have a standalone version of the live half, I'm not exactly sure. Complaining? Well, other than fancying hearing 7, not one jot, because what you have here is a 2014 show from Mansfield in England presented in an honest way, where the odd missed note, or stretched vocal isn't reason for concern. What this approach allows is for the listener to feel part of the event, the energy packed into the performance all the more powerful, while the songs themselves feel fresh and invigorating.

Long term fans will probably be most excited by the debut Savage album, Loose n Lethal, roared through in reverse order, the 1983 debut still hitting like the cult classic it has long been considered. Mixing in some new cuts allows the band to show the wealth of their full catalogue and with two original members, Andy Dawson on guitar and Chris Bradbury on vocals and bass, still in place, the heritage and history of this act remains firmly in place. The bookends of opening pair "The Rage Within" and "Black 'n' Blue" and closing duo of "Smilin' Assassin" and "We Got The Edge" proving a match for the revered "Let It Loose", "On The Rocks" and "White Hot".

One of many NWOBHM acts who are now looked on much more favourably than they were at the time (although critical and peer group acclaim certainly came their way), Live n Lethal shows that where it counts – the songs – Savage have always had what it takes.

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by