Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Suhy, Silvergold & Alvarado: Tessellations

From New Jersey comes the instrumental jazz-rock power trio comprised of guitarist Ray Suhy, drummer Alex Silvergold, and bassist Rolando Alvarado, and their ten song debut Tessellations mixes sizzling guitar solos with catchy melodies and acrobatic rhythms. Suhy can really blaze on the guitar, his herculean solos on "Temporal Landrons" are pretty jaw-dropping, while his lovely Wes Montgomery styled melodies float alongside Alvarado's leather lines on the jazzy "Special Cadence". High powered fusion cuts like "Perihelion", "Malachite Dream", and "Awakening" are lots of fun, with Silvergold's intricate drum fills rumbling under blistering guitar solos from Suhy, who at times reminds of a cross between Al DiMeola, Mike Stern, Larry Carlton, and Eric Johnson.

As this album is self-released, chances are it's not going to get a ton of exposure, and that's really a shame as there are plenty of exciting moments to be discovered. Check Tessellations out, and spread the word.

Track Listing
01 Malachite Dream
02 Aphelion
03 Svitani
04 Awakening
05 Temporal Landrons
06 Special Cadence
07 Entremet
08 Perihelion
09 Occaso
10 Wise One

Added: December 17th 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 1094
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by