Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Blackened Angel: Chronicles Of Damnation

Blackened Angel's Chronicles Of Damnation is a concept album of epic proportions recorded by the members of Aussie metal groups LORD, Serenity Defiled, Germ and Carbon Black. Chronicles Of Damnation presesnts a mixture of styles that is melodic/thrash and black metal, there is a melodic component which complements the more intense side. Guitarist Ricky Boon of the dark thrash group Serenity Defiled and vocalist/guitarist Lord Tim from the melodic metal band LORD are the creators of this work or works that is, as more are set to follow. Drummer Tim Yatras (Germ, ex.Dungeon and LORD) and bass player Rob Giles (Carbon Black, ex-Nekrofeist) are the other members of this scorching metal group.

Chronicles Of Damnation tells the tale of a man who is executed by way of the guillotine and then finds himself falling to purgatory with no memory whatsoever of his past or who he is, a fight ensues as both good and evil then fight for his soul. He becomes "The Blackened Angel" chosen as the leader of the dark forces that will rise from hell and strike at heaven. There is much more to discovered as this is only part of the story as the twists in the plot are revealed. With quite a number of tracks along with two enjoyable covers, though Chronicles Of Damnation is a concept release and there are those very cool brief atmospheric inclusions and voiceovers effectively setting the scene.

You wouldn't expect to predominately find clean melodic vocals with a name like Blackened Angel, Lord Tim's darkened vocals have appeared in the past but it's here where they are very prevalent. That impactful music of Chronicles Of Damnation sure draws you in after the blade is dropped and the principle character of this tale meets his demise in "And So It Ends" the band unleashes their power striking hard and fast with "Purgatory". Blackened Angel do a great job at setting the scene such as when they tell of a "Civil War" in hell, you can just picture an almighty battle taking place. There's a multitude of insanely addictive guitar riffs like those on the intense thrasher "Heavens Fall" and exciting solos to be heard on this album, actually it's a great effort all round from their line-up. Chronicles Of Damnation is damn fine metal album, so bring on further releases as I for one can't wait to hear more.

Track Listing
1. And So It Ends
2. Purgatory
3. Hell's Gate
4. A Figure In Black
5. Of Wings and White
6. Revelation, Arise
7. The Blackened Angel
8. Prophecy Of War
9. The Crimson Dawn
10. Heaven's Fall
11. And Then There Was Silence
12. Dark Victory
13. Campaign Of Death
14. Dissent
15. Realisation (The Army Of The Black)
16. Civil War
17. A Bloody End
18. Alone

Added: December 16th 2015
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1144
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by