Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

A Thousand Horses: Southernality

One part The Black Crowes, one part Lynyrd Skynyrd, and one part Florida Georgia Line...that's probably the best way to give a quick description to someone new to the music of Nashville's A Thousand Horses. Their latest release Southernality is produced by the acclaimed Dave Cobb, who has worked with many top artists in recent years. Comprised of Michael Hobby (vocals), Bill Satcher (lead guitar), Graham Deloach (bass), and Zach Brown (guitar, backing vocals), A Thousand Horses have a very accessible sound, drenched of course in both Southern rock as well as country/pop styles, and stardom seems a foregone conclusion for them.

Their hit single "Smoke" is as addicting as Southern/country rock gets, and a sure fire bet for anyone into acts like Florida Georgia Line, Luke Bryan, Keith Urban, and Brad Paisley. With the layers of catchy vocal harmonies, pedal steel guitars, and soaring melodies, it's an irresistible song. Elsewhere, "First Time" will bring back memories of The Black Crowes' outstanding debut album, a rootsy hard rocker with plenty of swagger and groove, while "Heaven is Close" owes plenty to recent Lynyrd Skynyrd releases with its tasty guitar licks and memorable melodies. For more of those beer soaked Southern flavors, check out "Travelin' Man" and "Tennessee Whiskey", both surely will be appealing to fans of Blackberry Smoke, and the scorching title track contains some fiery lead & slide guitars that are staples of Southern rock. Another good bet for a hit single here is "(This Ain't No) Drunk Dial", a pop/country ballad for all the ladies in the house. Other highlights include the raucous "Landslide", the rocking "Trailer Trashed", and the gentle acoustic picking of "Where I'm Going".

It's pretty obvious that A Thousand Horses can write a really catchy song, and they sure can rock out when they want to. Might the album be a tad too country for the Southern rock crowd? At times, perhaps. Might it be too hard rocking for the country crowd? That indeed also might be the case. Either way, if you fall somewhere in the middle and enjoy both styles, the truth is there are some great, catchy songs here with just enough attitude and sizzling musicality to appeal to a very wide audience.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1) First Time
2) Heaven is Close
3) Smoke
4) Travelin' Man
5) Tennessee Whiskey
6) Sunday Morning
7) Southernality
8) (This Ain't No) Drunk Dial
9) Landslide
10) Back to Me
11) Trailer Trashed
12) Hell on My Heart
13) Where I'm Going

Added: December 1st 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1415
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by