Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sinister: Afterburner (Gold Disc reissue)

The second of two Sinister reissues on "Gold Disc" CD from Metal Mind Productions, Afterburner was something of a comeback from the band after a year or so in hibernation. In the ensuing time from Aggressive Measures (the other reissue), gone was vocalist Eric de Windt (and his replacements, Joost Silvrants and Rachel van Mastrigt-Heyzer), with drummer Adrie Kloosterwaard downing his drumsticks to take up the position behind the mic. Factor in that bassist Alex Paul added guitars to his responsibilities, leaving new member Paul Beltmann to take Adrie's vacated slot behind the drums and Afterburner was almost the sound of an entirely different band.

And so it proved, the meat and potato death metal of the band's past ditched for a more (of the time) contemporary death sound. Adrie proves a revelation, his expressively growled delivery begging the question, why had it taken him over two decades to step out and front the band, when he does it so well? Either way, let's be thankful he did and that Beltmann proves a more than able replacement behind the kit (although he didn't stick around all that long). The rhythms are packed with blasts and explosive breaks, yet it's the musical nature of the percussive persistence that permeates the mind. Paul too proves to have been shackled by his previous role, his bass work always excellent, his guitar gratings proving even more so.

Delve deep here and you'll find six mid-length explosions of power, where the key is to quickly and believably get on the all out attack as often as possible. However "Presage Of The Mindless" and "Flesh Of The Servant" stretch things out, the eight minute mark bothered as Sinister employ a variety of attacks and tempos to offer up a more refined, if no less brutal, view on their world. While "Altruistic Suicide" and "Men Down" stand out amongst the impressive crop of shorter tracks.

Limited to 2000 copies, from the two Sinister reissues, Afterburner proves to be a distinctly stronger option. By current standards, it may not be cutting edge, however with a sharp sound and utterly convincing attack, this album still stands proud today.

Track Listing
1.The Grey Massacre
2.Altruistic Suicide
3.Men Down
5.Presage Of The Mindless
6.Into Submission
7.The Riot Crossfire
8.Flesh Of The Servant

Added: November 28th 2015
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Sinister online
Hits: 1089
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by