Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ice Age: Double Feature

The Great Divide and Liberation are progressive recordings by the group Ice Age. Inspired by progressive rock and metal, with the releases of such groups as Styx, Kansas, Saga, Rush and Queensryche, Iced Age started out in the nineties. Though many years later Ice Age actually decided that it was time for a change and the band became known as Soulfractured with an EP to their name. Before this move they did manage to release two full length albums under the Ice Age moniker with Magna Carta Records, and it's those that are being released together as another of the Magna Carta twin pack Double Feature CD's. The band is no longer together in either forms from what I can tell so these are the only full length releases out there.

Between the two discs there is an extensive amount of material to be digested and this band sure seems to like their epics. So you certainly get your moneys worth, and speaking of which this double release is also specially priced. I don't know how well known Ice Age were? I suspect not very, being overshadowed by the Dream Theater's and Queensryche's of the day, and Ice Age is not a progressive band name that you notice getting mentioned but then they are hardly the only ones. Which is a real shame given how impressive these albums are with likeable vocals and excellent musicianship creating quality shifting melodic progressive songs, and a welcome fusion of guitar and keyboards fans of early Dream Theater and Shadow Gallery should take a look.

Track Listing
The Great Divide
1. Perpetual Child (10:29)
2. Sleepwalker (5:24)
3. Join (5:55)
4. Spare Chicken Parts (8:50)
5. Because Of You (5:32)
6. The Bottom Line (4:44)
7. Ice Age (11:08)
8. One Look Away (5:40)
9. Miles To Go (5:01)
10. To Say Goodbye, Part I: Worthless Words (3:13); Part II: On Our Way (8:18)

1. The Lhasa Road (No Surrender) (8:38)
2. March Of the Red Dragon (1:07)
3. The Blood Of Ages (7:15)
4. A Thousand Years (6:10)
5. When You're Ready (8:58)
6. Musical Cages (6:31)
7. Monolith (1:15)
8. The Guardian of Forever (6:48)
9. Howl (1:41)
10. The Wolf (4:40)
11. To Say Goodbye, Part III: Still Here (8:19)
12. Tong-Len (1:34)

Added: November 21st 2015
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Label Website
Hits: 2042
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by