Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Katagory V: A New Breed of Rebellion

A New Breed of Rebellion is the latest release from Utah based power/progressive metal band Katagory V. They have a sound that incorporates elements of Fates Warning, Queensryche and Judas Priest. Vocalist Lynn Allers sounds remarkably like Ray Alder while the band's twin lead guitars courtesy of Curtis Morrell and Trevor Asire call to mind classic albums like Empire and Awaken the Guardian.

Do not be fooled by the portentous fanfare of the sci-fi flavored keyboards that open the album! Katagory V use keyboards so sparingly that they are all but unnoticeable. Likewise, despite the futuristic doom portrayed in the artwork adorning the CD booklet, the songs are refreshingly humanistic and dwell on the darker side of life.

"Sands of Time" sets the tone of the CD with lyrics that lament the uncertain future of the human race. Maybe that artwork isn't so inappropriate after all. "Turn to Grey" is an excellent progressive metal rocker, chock full of jerky rhythms and unexpected time changes. "A New Breed of Rebellion" features some nice dynamics with an extended acoustic introduction that segues into a Savatage style power ballad. "One Last Time" similarly ends the album on a surprisingly pretty and mellow note and I was very much reminded of the Judas Priest classic "Beyond the Realms of Death". Katagory V are equally adept at short and fast burners like "No Response" and "Chrono-logic". One can happily bang his or her head to the frequent key changes.

My only qualm with the album is the production, which is dull and lifeless. The abysmal recording tends to seriously undermine the power of compositions like "Your Dreams" and "One Last Time". This is unfortunate as the band write some very good songs. As A New Breed of Rebellion is only the band's second recording, I have high hopes for their next release. A proper producer could elevate Katagory V into the stratosphere.

Track Listing

  1. Sands of Time (5:12)
  2. Turn to Grey (3:41)
  3. No Response (5:27)
  4. A New Breed of Rebellion (7:21)
  5. A Peaceful Act of Terrorism (5:57)
  6. Your Dreams (7:13)
  7. Chrono-Logic (4:37)
  8. In Dark Night (4:49)
  9. One Last Time (6:44)
Total Time 51:07

Added: October 27th 2004
Reviewer: Steve Pettengill
Related Link: Official Katagory V Web Page
Hits: 3393
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by