Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Davies, Dave: Rippin' Up New York City

The last couple years has been a busy one for legendary Kinks co-founder and guitarist Dave Davies with the release of I Will Be Me in 2013 and the subsequent 2014 follow up Rippin' Up Time. Now we have the new live disc Rippin' Up New York City recorded at the City Winery in November of 2014. It wasn't that long ago Davies' suffered a life threatening stroke so kudos to the artist for pushing onwards and upwards and giving his fans new music to absorb.

What you get with this live recording are a mixture of vintage Kinks tracks and selected solo numbers from his storied career. Davies and his band are as vibrant as ever and includes the aforementioned Davies (lead vocals, lead, rhythm and acoustic guitars), Jonathan Lea (electric and acoustic guitar), Dennis Diken (drums, vocals), Tom Currier (bass, keyboards, vocals) and Rebecca G. Wilson (backing vocals). My one issue is Davies' lead vocals which are quite spotty at times although that should be of no surprise as the man is almost 70. That said, his guitar playing is as strong as ever showcasing those classic Kinks power riffs and rocking lead work throughout the concert. Songs like "Rippin' Up Time", "I'm Not Like Everybody Else" and the Kinks' "I Need You" are energetic rockers starting off this fiery set. "Creepin' Jean" has always been a great tune although the vocals sound a little flat this time around but on the excellent "Suzannahs Still Alive" Davies' vocals are much better, giving the song its subtle charm.

One of the more poignant moments is a heartfelt rendition of the acoustic led ballad "Strangers" where his vocals, although raspy and strained, still provide that undeniable English charm. Another pretty moment is the audience requested "Flowers in the Rain", a song of utmost beauty and perhaps his best vocal performance of the night. His voice seems to be better suited for the slower tunes these days.

The concert ends with classic Kinks; "Where Have All The Good Times Gone", "All Day And All Of The Night" and "You Really Got Me". Certainly a fitting way to end the evening.

Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. Rippin' Up Time
3. I'm Not Like Everybody Else
4. I Need You
5. Creepin' Jean
6. Suzannahs Still Alive
7. See My Friend
8. Strangers
9. Flowers In The Rain
10. Front Room
11. King Of Karaoke
12. Death Of A Clown
13. Livin' On A Thin Line
14. Where Have All The Good Times Gone
15. All Day And All Of The Night
16. You Really Got Me

Added: November 19th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1104
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by