Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

My Hollow: On Borrowed Time

Heavy, heavy , heavy. That's what Toronto's My Hollow have delivered with their full length debut On Borrowed Time. The press release bills the band's style as groove metal and I can't really argue with that assessment although the vocals are clearly in the death metal camp, intense growls and screaming which are not really my cup of tea. The music does offer plenty of heavy grooves but there is also a metal-core element to the blasting guitar riffs which sometimes chop and grind while at other times are more fluid, melodic and clean, taking the songs through incredibly heavy soundscapes. Some nifty chord progressions and time changes as well, ensuring the listener that these guys know their way around their instruments. The only mellower offering is the brief interlude "Life In The Shadows" where the mood and atmosphere is suitably eerie. The brief clean vocals in the catchy "King With No Castle" is another welcome change of pace. Sadly it's an all too brief occurrence as the growls are much more prominent. The contrast in vocal styles would have been a smart move. Perhaps the band will explore that more on their next release.

While I dig the drums, bass and guitar, the vocals not so much. I don't mean to disparage the vocalist as he has pretty much perfected the style, it is just difficult to find enjoyment amidst his harsh tones. Some cleaner passages would have been greatly appreciated. That said, if you dig the growling/screaming style and like your music in relentless waves of heaviness On Borrowed Time should be worth a look.

Band Members:
Graham Daniel Gaudreault (vocals) Greg Gallagher (lead and rhythm guitar, vocals)
Sean De Faria (bass, vocals)
Lenny Chiasson (lead and rhythm guitar)
Angelo Giammattolo (drums)

Track Listing:
1. On Borrowed Time
2. As Seams Seep Red
3. Cold Dark Days
4. History Of Violence
5. Life In The Shadows (Interlude)
6. King With No Castles
7. Wade Through The Thorns
8. We Cross The Sun
9. Blood Seeds

Added: November 16th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Facebook Page
Hits: 1464
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by