Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Michael Sarian & The Chabones: The Escape Suite

At a very young age Michael Sarian left his Canadian home for the warmer climes of Buenos Ares, Argentina. It was here he honed his musical talent garnering tutelage from some of the best jazz musicians Argentina had to offer. From there it was on to New York City where he pursued a Master's Degree in Jazz Studies at New York University. He released his first album Subtitles in 2014 and a year later comes his sophomore effort The Escape Suite.

The players are Michael Sarian (trumpet), Jim Piela (alto and soprano sax), Ricky Alexander (tenor sax), David Banker (trombone - track 1), Christopher Misch-Bloxdorf (trombone - tracks 2-7), Michael Verselli (Rhodes and Minimoog), Trevor Brown (electric bass) and Josh Bailey (drums).

While Sarian has his roots firmly planted in jazz music, The Escape Suite isn't just a jazz album. Fusion, progressive rock and electronic music are all touched upon, giving this album a diverse yet highly organized sound. "Brett Atlas" starts off the disc with subtle electronic blips and beeps as a lazy trumpet slowly unfolds. The melody is gentle and as the drums begin the sound becomes fuller having a voiceless Steely Dan vibe at times. Winding sax and trumpet give way to more complex drum action and as the intensity increases the melody is still within reach. A smattering of cymbals and relaxed trombone and trumpet begin "Skirt Shock". The brass has a hint of psychedelia and as the piece veers into a fusionesque soundscape the horns take on some biting tones. Floating Rhodes and Minimoog also leave their stamp giving the song a progressive edge. A languid trombone marks the beginning of "Bruises", one of the most melodic pieces on the disc. The song moves at a relaxing pace and soon trumpet and sax feature prominently along with gentle Rhodes piano. For a more experimental electronic sound "Bitch Whistle" should suffice quite nicely before ending with the Latin infused "Rise" where a richly toned trombone solo and dreamy Rhodes are album highlights.

The Escape Suite is really quite a stunning musical statement. Even if you don't appreciate jazz I urge you to give this a listen and decide for yourself. Excellent stuff indeed.

Track Listing:
1. Brett Atlas (6:42)
2. Skirt Shock (5:44)
3. North (4:53)
4. Chain Mobile (6:08)
5. Bruises (5:53)
6. Bitch Whistle (6:21)
7. Rise (6:35)

Added: November 13th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1825
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by