Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Amp Trio: M(y)our World

Here is another jazz confection that completely caught me off guard. Amp Trio is a group of young musicians hailing from Texas. Don't let the 'young' bit fool you, these guys are outstanding players and have that certain chemistry that all of the better jazz musicians seem to attain.

M(y)our World is the trio's second album. The players are Addison Frei (piano), Matt Young (drums) and Perrin Grace (bass) along with special guests Tahira Clayton (vocals on tracks 2,6,7,8), Brad Kang (guitar on tracks 3,4,10), Drew Zaremba (organ on track 10) and Nick Rothouse (percussion on track 10).

The album's first track "Riding Periphery" is a great example of what this CD has to offer. Softer piano motifs and gentle cymbal taps lead to more complex playing as the piano, bass and drums interact in a delightful manner with the focal point being a wonderful piano-led melody. On the slow paced but jaunty "Stand By You" the band slips and slides alongside Clayton's sultry lead vocals in the tradition of classic jazz while the title track is a much more atmospheric offering and slightly darker toned with guest musician Brad Kang adding outstanding liquid-like lead guitar. "Circa" is another atmospheric piece with moody piano-led soundscapes whereas "Boundlessly In Balance" offers a breath of nostalgia with Clayton's romantic style vocals and dynamic changes in tempo. I could go on but I will leave the rest in your capable hands.

The best way to make this band a part of your world is to give them your full support and buy their album. They really deserve it as M(y)our World is an excellent contemporary jazz album with a fresh take on blending killer melodies with improvisation and the written form. Check out their website and Facebook page for more information.

Track Listing:
1. Riding Periphery
2. Stand By You
3. M(y)our World
4. Circa
5. Boundlessly In Balance
6. Culture
7. Dallas
8. Her Way In The Room
9. Phil S Bill
10. Sun Rays

Added: November 13th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1987
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by