Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Chastain: We Bleed Metal

After the somewhat disappointing 2013 reunion CD Surrender To No One, veteran metal act Chastain seem to have ironed out the kinks for their follow-up We Bleed Metal. David T. Chastain (guitars), Leather Leone (vocals), Mike Skimmerhorn (bass), and Stian Kristoffersen (drums) this time around have delivered pretty much what we've come to expect from this outfit. The songs here on We Bleed Metal border on thrashy power metal, filled with Leone's gravelly yet soaring vocals, mountainous riffs & solos from Chastain, and speedy, rock solid rhythms, all housed within fairly catchy, anthemic, and heavy songs. The raging title track and "All Hail the King" both bring to mind German metal titans Primal Fear, as Chastain riffs like a madman underneath histrionic screams from Leone, while the slower, grinding "Search Time For You" feels like a head on collision between Pantera and Black Sabbath. Chastain unleashes a torrent of blazing leads and punishing riffs on the crushing "Don't Trust Tomorrow", and mixes some neo-classical noodling with epic metal on the bombastic "I Am a Warrior". Perhaps the sleeper track here is "The Last Ones Alive", a perfect example of what this band is capable of when they are firing on all cylinders, Leone soaring over complex rhythms (Kristoffersen is unbelievable on this track), huge riffs, and sizzling shred courtesy of Chastain. Most importantly, the song is quite memorable with plenty of anthemic moments. "Secrets" is another winner, quite possibly the heaviest track on an album full of them, with snarling riffs from the leader that shows he still has plenty of them up his sleeve.

If you were looking for the perfect sequel to Ruler of the Wasteland and The 7th of Never when Surrender To No One came out and were let down, give Chastain another chance as I think they have accomplished just that here on We Bleed Metal. This is classic heavy metal the way it ought to sound.

Track Listing
1. We Bleed Metal
2. All Hail The King
3. Against All The Gods
4. Search Time For You
5. Don't Trust Tomorrow
6. I Am A Warrior
7. Evolution of Terror
8. The Last Ones Alive
9. Secrets

Added: November 8th 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2292
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Chastain: We Bleed Metal
Posted by Marcos Brasil on 2018-12-18 19:52:20
My Score:


2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by