Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ogotay: Dead God's Prophet

Since one of my favorite poems is T. S. Eliot's "The Waste Land," my ears perked up when I saw that it shares a title with one of the songs on this album. It's perfectly fitting for a band like Ogotay to think in terms of waste and despair and destruction. Their brand of technical death metal consistently goes over the ground of the world as a dark, despairing, place in which there's little hope. In that sense, the band shares with Eliot a thoroughgoing sense of darkness and doubt. The music reinforces such feelings by blasting everything in its path with a pummeling, direct, attack. There's no stopping or slowing down until the sixth track "Kneel and Die." Even then, the pause is not nearly long enough, a short inhale before going back to the blasted heaths of the contemporary world. Fans of brutal technical death metal will likely find Ogotay, an up and coming group of Polish musicians, to be not only promising, but also ready to unleash havoc on anything that gets in their way. Check out the awesome cover art on this one, too.

Track Listing:
1. Dead God's Prophet
2. Antiseptic Hell
3. Axis Mundi
4. Entering the Void
5. Bastards and Orphans
6. Kneel and Die
7. The Wasteland
8. Huge Fucking Nothing

Added: November 7th 2015
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1166
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by