Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Flying Colors: Second Flight- Live At The Z7 (DVD/CD)

Hot on the heels of their sophomore album Second Nature, supergroup Flying Colors, comprised of Mike Portnoy (drums, vocals), Dave LaRue (bass), Neal Morse (keyboards, vocals), Casey McPherson (vocals, guitars) and Steve Morse (guitar), took to the road, and this thrilling live set was recorded at Switzerland's historic Z7 theater in front of a loving, ecstatic audience. With spectacular audio options and crystal clear, crisp video, Second Flight-Live at the Z7 is a must see concert event, showing a band that is clearly enjoying playing together and firing on all cylinders.

As the fans were hearing most of these songs live for the first time, it's amazing to see just how much they were into each and every note for the entire set, something that was not lost on the band. Fusing progressive rock with catchy, melodic pop, Flying Colors' music is challenging yet easily accessible, and more importantly, it rocks. McPherson is the perfect guy for the frontman role; his voice is rugged, yet melodic, and he pairs well with the always fantastic Neal Morse for a killer dual vocal attack. Portnoy is his upbeat self, doing most of the talking between songs, and providing thunderous drumming on engaging tunes like "Bombs Away", "Open Up Your Eyes", and the irresistible "A Place in Your World". Deep Purple/Dixie Dregs legend Steve Morse as always provides plenty of virtuoso guitar work, with McPherson even joining him out front on a few occasions to rip into some serious twin guitar mayhem. The main highlight in this set is without a doubt the emotional "Colder Months" and "Peaceful Harbor", a heartfelt acoustic piece by McPherson that leads into a full band, symphonic rocker with addicting melodies that will warm your soul.

From start to finish this is just a fantastic show, as Flying Colors completely won over the fans in attendance from the get go, and they'll do the same to viewers at home as well. This is a band who are really picking up steam, and hopefully they will continue to do so for years and years when the hectic schedules of their main acts permits.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
01. Overture
02. Open Up Your Eyes
03. Bombs Away
04. Kayla
05. Shoulda Coulda Woulda
06. The Fury Of My Love
07. A Place In Your World
08. Forever In A Daze
09. One Love Forever
10. Colder Months
11. Peaceful Harbor
12. The Storm
13. Cosmic Symphony
14. Mask Machine
15. Infinite Fire

Added: October 31st 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 3958
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by