Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Santana & McLaughlin: Invitation To Illumination-Live at Montreux 2011

On July 1st, 2011, at the legendary Montreux Jazz Festival 2 legendary guitarists, Carlos Santana and John McLaughlin, joined forces once again for just one single performance and it was recorded and packaged as a 2 CD set entitled, Invitation To Illumination-Live at Montreux 2011 (Eagle Rock Entertainment). This unique gathering featured most of the tracks from their fabled 1973 album, Love Devotion Surrender, as well as classic John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Led Zeppelin, Bob Dylan and John Lee Hooker standards that have influenced both guitarists careers. This very special evening was also captured on on DVD & Blu-Ray.

The line-up for this performance featured Carlos Santana (Lead Guitar & Vocals); John McLaughlin (Lead Guitar & Vocals); Cindy Blackman Santana (Drums); Dennis Chambers (Drums); David K. Mathews (Keyboards); Tommy Anthony (Guitar & Vocals); Raul Rekow (Congas, Percussion & Vocals); Etienne M'Bappé (Bass); Benny Rietveld (Bass); Tony Lindsay (Vocals); Andy Vargas (Vocals) and this all-star lineup does not disappoint as they do their best Jam Band renditions of the influential material and extend each song to their fullest. Both Santana and McLaughlin have long been performers at the Montreux Jazz Festival and this incredible display of musicianship by 2 most the most renowned and beloved guitarists is simply awe-inspiring.

A song like the opener, "The Life Divine" from their Love Devotion Surrender album, with its driving feel, shows that the fire still burns within these two masters and the melody that follows has both guitarists on top of their games with segments of Led Zep's "Stairway to Heaven" and Dylan's "A Hard Rain Is Gonna Fall" being featured with spectacular unison and dueling guitar passages abound. A number of different genres are touched throughout this double disc such as; Latin, Jazz and Blues and all are handled effortlessly with Santana and McLaughlin constantly throwing out virtuoso guitar work.

It is too bad that it took these 2 music legends 38 years to join forces once again, but fortunately this special evening that was called "Invitation To Illumination" was captured on CD and DVD for all of us to marvel at for years to come. Eagle Rock has done an excellent job with the packaging of both formats of this concert and this double CD showcases 2 guitar legends still enjoying what they both do and their joy of playing together again is very evident. This is a great document of this special performance by a pair of guitar players still thriving at their craft.

Disc One:
1) Echoes Of Angels
2) The Life Divine
3) Medley: Peace On Earth / A Hard Rain Is Gonna Fall / Stairway To Heaven / Summer In The City / Our Prayer / Free America / The 8th Of January / La Marseillaise / SOCC
4) Medley: Right Off / Guitar Interlude / Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
5) Vuelta Abajo
6) Vashkar
7) Medley: The Creator Has A Master Plan / Guitar Interlude
8) Naima
9) Medley: Lotus Land Op.47 No.1 / Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood

Disc Two:
1) Downstairs Blues
2) Medley: Venus / Upper Egypt
3) Let Us Go Into The House Of The Lord
4) Medley: Black Satin / Smooth Criminal / Land Of 1000 Dances
5) Cindy Blackman Santana Drum Solo
6) A Love Supreme
7) Shake It Up And Go

Added: October 23rd 2015
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 2528
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by