Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Miss Crazy: Resurrection Hard Rock

Not content with their 2013 (and first in five years) album Grip, Miss Crazy returned in early 2014 with the boldly titled Resurrection Hard Rock (the band's first of two albums that year). And while there are few albums which could live up to that claim, it doesn't stop it from being a collection of songs which hit hard and live long in the memory. Again the plan seems to be, take the best of '80s rock and deliver it with gusto and no little skill; this time however a harder, meatier attack bellows forth and infuses the Kix meets Def Leppard of "Fire" and "She Needs My Love". Adding a little Cheap Trick flair, "Dying" takes that Neilsen-Zander trademark and beefs it up, before "I Want Love" harks back further, the bold riffs of Jimmy Page evoked as frontman Marcus Allen Christopher brings his Tom Keifer (Cinderella) like bark into Plant-ish territory. It's the type of song you should be able to dismiss as blatant rip off and yet, fun is as fun does, and it doesn't get much funner than this. Something that also stands true for the acoustic Guns N Roses nod of "Moon Child".

You might by now be getting the impression that Miss Crazy don't have an original bone in their body and the Leppardisms of "Gonna Have A Good Time" and Enuff Z'Nuff kick of "Hello" certainly won't dispel that theory. And neither, to be fair, will the Kiss on a budget face paint the band wear on the cover (if ever you needed proof of Kiss's genius, the lost Goth gone wrong look Miss Crazy wear on their faces proves how easy it is to do this sort of schtick badly) and yet if you are willing to put these less than individual traits to one side, Resurrection Hard Rock is as convincing a ride through '80s hard rock as the '00s have provided.

Two great albums in the space of a year. Who could ask for more? Well, it would appear Miss Crazy, with Inception following once more in quick succession and as the review elsewhere proves, with equally impressive results.

Track Listing
1. Fire
2. She Needs My Love
3. Dying
4. I Want Love
5. Moon Child
6. Gonna HaveA Good Time
7. I'm On My Knees
8 .Hello
9. I'm Sorry December
10. I'll Follow You
11. My Everything
12. Hiding From The Ghost
13. Knowing Me 2014

Added: October 17th 2015
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Miss Crazy on Facebook
Hits: 1513
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by