Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Children Of Bodom: I Worship Chaos

While Halo Of Blood was their strongest release in some time the Bodom crew have backed that up with another agreeable album. I Worship Chaos is album number nine for the dark melodic metal group from Finland, and one that does not to include long term guitarist Roope Latvala who has departed the band. So the now four piece group have again delved into the past combining that vintage Bodom with those later elements. Catering to long term and newer fans that have got on-board during their twenty years of making music. Besides the solos the keyboards of Janne Wirman do play a sizeable part on I Worship Chaos and that's just fine with me as he is an extremely talented player with an enjoyable style. When combined with Alex Laiho's guitar like on the second track "My Bodom (I Am The Only One)" it's simply melodic awesomeness.

From the commencement of "I Hurt" and that melodic interplay between Alex and Janne, switching to a hefty groove then kicking it up a gear, you get the impression that Children Of Bodom are once again set to impress. Once again there is a mixture of tempos throughout "Morrigan" is mid paced and very catchy rich with melody and gripping music. There is no sign of speed on "Prayer For The Afflicted" it's slow and powerful like their classic "Every Time I Die". The explosive title track "I Worship Chaos" hooks in with a double kick barrage and Alex's shredding, Janne's keyboard solo is off the scale as he rips it up big time, just a shame it wasn't longer. Some of Children Of Bodom's best work on the album can also found on tracks such as "Suicide Bomber" and "Widdershins".

Sure I didn't expect the band to surpass Follow The Reaper and Hatebreeder they deserve to be called COB classics and haven't since been matched by the group. But there are songs on I Worship Chaos that truly are some of the bands most engaging recordings since those albums.

Track Listing
1. I Hurt
2. My Bodom (I Am The Only One)
3. Morrigan
4. Horns
5. Prayer For The Afflicted
6. I Worship Chaos
7. Hold Your Tongue
8. Suicide Bomber
9. All for Nothing
10. Widdershins

Added: October 11th 2015
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2238
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by