Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Annihilator: Suicide Society

So there has been a significant change in the Annihilator camp as Dave Padden is gone after quite some time behind the microphone and Jeff Waters has now resumed lead vocals duties. Actually Waters also plays bass and of course guitar on the new and fifteenth Annihilator album leaving the drums in the capable hands of Mike Harshaw. That album is titled Suicide Society and it's no surprise that rainbows and puppy dogs are not what Waters is singing about, it's quite the opposite as after all this is Annihilator.

When I read the news that Waters was back on vocals I wasn't put off in the slightest, as I really don't mind what he's contributed on those past albums such as King Of The Kill and Refresh The Demon. Though really it's not like Padden was the best vocalist Annihilator have had to date and Water's more melodic style is certainly welcome back. To the songs of Suicide Society and there are those with a more instant appeal like "Creepin' Again" showing although there is that modern metal influence the past has not been forgotten with its classic Annihilator thrash feel. The title and also opening number "Suicide Society" has continued to grow on me which seems is also the case with some others, this is one varied track with some very inviting guitar work courtesy of My Waters. "My Revenge" is a lively Annihilator tune while "Snap" has a Rammstein like metallic groove. "Narcotic Avenue" kicks in with more infectious grooving and that slamming Annihilator style metal. "The One You Serve" is packed with more of those tasty guitar licks from the always reliable axeman which continue through to the closer "Every Minute".

Things were certainly looking up the last time Annihilator gave us a new album with the warmly received Feast, and the trend continues for Annihilator on Suicide Society. As a long time fan since 1989's Alice In Hell in 2015 it's great to see the band still in such good form.

Track Listing
1. Suicide Society
2. My Revenge
3. Snap
4. Creepin' Again
5. Narcotic Avenue
6. The One You Serve
7. Break, Enter
8. Death Scent
9. Every Minute

Added: October 3rd 2015
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2662
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by