Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mew: + -

Danish band Mew have taken pop music into the stratosphere with their first album in six years simply titled + -. Not only is the title simplified from their previous effort but the music feels more cohesive as a whole. That is not saying this is 'simple' music but I think the band is more focused on this effort sticking mainly to what this band has always done so well and that is writing some incredibly catchy tunes.

These fabulous players include Jonas Bjerre (vocals, guitar), Bo Madsen (guitar, keyboards), Johan Wohlert (bass) and Silas Graae (drums).

As usual with a Mew album the focus lies on the shoulders of Bjerre's lead vocals. He has one of the best falsetto's in rock/pop music and he nails it on every track making these some of the band's most memorable tunes starting with the album opening "Satellites", an incredibly addictive slice of heaven with scrumptious lead and backing vocals, delicious guitar and tasteful keyboards. The next track "Witness" continues in a similar vein with this one being slightly more dramatic with bigger riffs and heavier beats. "The Night Believer" is a more straight forward pop song but with that Mew 'sound' making it anything but forgettable. "Making Friends" is another pop heavy delight with wonderful vocal harmonies that are so unique to this band. "Cling to a Bad Dream" is another catchy tune with a nice build at the start, great beats and distinctive guitar riffs with a really cool dream-like section. The vocals are absolutely sublime as they are throughout the album. There are a bunch of other gems including the ten plus minute opus "Rows" which I will leave for you to discover.

Although I have not heard all their albums I have to say + - is right up there with And The Glass Handed Kites as one of their most memorable. It might not be as 'progressive' as that album but I can assure you no one mixes prog and pop in quite the same way. Whoever thought pop music would taste this good.

Track Listing:
1. Satellites (6:09)
2. Witness (3:02)
3. The Night Believer (4:12)
4. Making Friends (4:52)
5. Clinging to a Bad Dream (6:43)
6. My Complications (6:04)
7. Water Slides (5:05)
8. Interview the Girls (4:04)
9. Rows (10:43)
10. Cross the River on Your Own (7:29)

Added: September 24th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1157
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by