Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Grubbs, Todd: Beautiful Device

I am not the biggest fan of the Steve Vai/Joe Satriani school of guitar theatrics, but I must acknowledge talent when I hear it and Todd Grubbs has bucket loads of it!! Thankfully, he has a good ear for melody as well and right from the first track, I was hooked.

Based in Tampa, Florida, Grubbs has himself quite a little instrumental combo in drummer Jeff Henry, keyboardist Jordan Leino and bass player Patrick Bettison. Beautiful Device is Grubbs' third instrumental CD and as much as it is a full band recording, it is firmly a guitar lovers delight.

Highlights are many, but I'd like to single out the one two punch of "Satafacation" and "Time Phazer". The former is irresistibly funky and the latter contains a great Eastern tinged riff. Oh… and if you are puzzled by the bizarre song titles(as I initially was), the booklet features a running commentary by Grubbs explaining the history of each track.

Other noteworthy titles include the playful trio of "Inky Goes to Tampa", "Get Out of My Yard" and "The Luckiest Monkies in the World". However, my favorite piece of all is probably "Ma La Vo Day (He's Your Brother)". At six minutes plus, it has a really live jam vibe about it and after listening to the track and perusing the liner notes, I was surprised to read that Grubbs double tracked his guitar parts after the basic recording. The results are seamless.

The sound quality of the CD is pretty stunning, again with a very live and natural production. One can practically hear the room in which the album was recorded.

For my money, Beautiful Device blows the pants off of Jeff Beck's Guitar Shop album or Joe Satriani's Flying in a Blue Dream. Grubbs shows off without being particularly showy and his flights of fancy are often quite lyrical. One does not need to be in awe of the Berklee College of Music league of guitarists to enjoy the abundance of pleasures contained in Beautiful Device. Very beautiful device indeed.

Track Listing

  1. Satafacation
  2. Time Phazer
  3. Inky Goes to Tampa
  4. Ma La Vo Day (He's Your Brother)
  5. I am Frebis
  6. Unkle Bobbert
  7. The Cowboys of Alpha Centauri
  8. Get Out of My Yard
  9. My Sweet Laura
  10. Beatiful Device
  11. The Luckiest Monkies in the World

Total Time 48:37

Added: October 20th 2004
Reviewer: Steve Pettengill
Related Link: Official Todd Grubbs Home Page
Hits: 2728
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by