Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Godsticks: Emergence

This year has been great musically speaking and it gets even better with the new album Emergence from the South Wales band Godsticks. There are so many excellent bands out there it is hard to listen to them all and Godsticks are one such band for me although I have been curious about them for quite some time. Emergence is their third release and the follow up to 2013's The Envisage Conundrum.

In the band are Darran Charles (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Steve Roberts (drums, keyboards) and Dan Nelson (bass).

I have to say when I first began listening to Emergence it was good but I wasn't initially overwhelmed. The second time it was the better and by the third listen I was completely floored. This is quite heavy at times with thick heavy riffs, big choruses and intense stick work. That was apparent right away but there is also a subtlety here that is not so obvious. A prime example is the first track "Below The Belt" where the intense riffage is coloured with subtle keyboards that just barely emerge from the soundscape. The stop/start guitar riffs are loaded with intensity. In "Ruin" a heavy drum beat and complex rhythmic patterns with a smattering of keyboards lead to another memorable chorus. Some of the guitar parts are particularly tasty. Other highlights include the catchy "Much Sinister" featuring a very strong vocal delivery from Charles, the dynamic "Exit Stage Left" where the keyboards are indirect yet effective and the guitar work is exceptional and the gentler "All That Remains" where the acoustic guitar and refined orchestrations paint a true work of art and Charles' vocal arrangement is absolutely gorgeous. That's the first five tunes. There are five others as equally captivating that have a few more surprises in store.

After listening to Emergence at least ten times I am still finding different parts to love. If you like heavy progressive rock prepare to immerse yourself in fifty minutes of pure bliss. I really can't recommend this album enough.

Track Listing:
1. Below The Belt
2. Ruin
3. Much Sinister
4. Exit Stage Right
5. All That Remains
6. Hopeless Situation
7. One Percent
8. Emergence
9. Leave Or Be Left
10. Lack Of Scrutiny

Added: September 24th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1884
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by