Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

A Sound of Thunder: Tales From The Deadside

Washington, D.C. natives, A Sound of Thunder, have returned with their successfully funded Kickstarter campaign to release their most auspicious recording to date. Strongly produced by Platinum awarded producer, Kevin "131" Gutierrez (Shinedown, Raven, While Heaven Wept), the new disc, Tales From the Deadside (Mad Neptune Records) is a tight and sonically pleasing record capturing the bands heavy and powerfully vocal led sound.

Tales From the Deadside is the full length story based on Valiant Entertainment's Shadowman comic book series. The story of Shadowman, his alter-ego Jack Boniface, and the many characters in his world inspired the band to create a strong album. They allowed the story to lead them to places in their music that they had not been before while combining all the elements of supernatural horror, drama, action and adventure found in the comics.

Musically, ASOT deliver a powerful slab of American Metal blending elements of the melodic along with angular guitar riffing that fit well with the harmony's thrown down by female powerhouse, Nina Osegueda. It is Osegueda's vocals that pack the largest wallop within these 10 tunes telling the Shadowman story. She goes from soaring to sweet hitting everything in-between on her way to telling this story. What is an interesting twist is the use of a narrator in-between and during songs that ties the story together and adds a dimension and texture that aids in keep the listener on point with what is going on in this conceptual piece.

All and all A Sound of Thunder have released their strongest effort to date while telling the Shadowman story, which is something near and dear to their hearts. Their passion and love for this comic book series is abundantly obvious which has been transformed into Tales From the Deadside. This passion is showcased in tunes like "Sandria (Carry On)" where Osegueda's gut wrenching vocals are top notch, the speedy romp of "Punk Mambo" or the Power Metal of "Tower of Souls" with musical performances being up to snuff with the current landscape of modern Metal. Good Stuff.

Track Listing
1. Children of the Dark
2. Sandria (Carry On)
3. Can't Hold Back
4. Deadside
5. Tower of Souls
6. Losing Control (The Unquiet Shadow)
7. Punk Mambo
8. Alyssa (Life in Shadows)
9. Tremble
10. End Times

Added: September 24th 2015
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1830
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by