Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

One the Juggler: Nearly A Sin

Here is a band you have never heard of. One the Juggler burst onto the UK music scene with their debut album Nearly A Sin. Punk was near its demise and the air waves were filled with New Romantic sounds from the likes of Depeche Mode, Duran Duran and Classix Nouveaux. Unfortunately for the band it was a short stay as they could not survive for much longer and broke up shortly after the release of their second album Some Strange Fashion, even though it was produced by the legendary Mick Ronson. Maybe the second time will be the charm as Angel Air Records has given their debut the full treatment, including nine bonus tracks.

Catchy glam inspired rock and pop is the name of the game here. Songs like the danceable opening track "Enjoy Yourself", the radio friendly pop confection of "Mr Wolf" and the glam influenced "Passion Killer", highlighted with catchy vocals and saxophone start the disc in an irresistible way. Next is the catchy pop of "(O No,) You're Not The Same", clearly influenced by David Bowie, particularly the lead vocals and the punchy "Sister Soul", another memorable guitar/saxophone led gem. The immediacy continues throughout the disc as the pop induced earworms keep on coming.

The bonus tracks are also worth exploring especially given the fact they are all different tunes, no remixes of songs already heard and continue the band's hook driven glammafied rock and pop.

Nearly A Sin is an enjoyable nugget from the past, and if you are a fan of new wave, glam rock or just catchy tunes, One the Juggler will be well worth your time.

Track Listing:
1. Enjoy Yourself
2. Mr Wolf
3. Passion Killer
4. (O No,) You're Not The Same
5. Sister Soul
6. Junkie For Love
7. Blind Old Senator
8. A Minor Goes EFF
9. Barnaaby
10. Damage Is Done
11. Djangos Coming
12. Patience Of A Saint
13. Are You One
14. Damage Reprise
Bonus Tracks
15. Nearly A Sin
16. Lovit Go
17. Freaks
18. Rip The Cat
19. Secret Of Love
20. Everyday
21. Body And Soul
22. Diamonds You Meet
23. It Hurts

Added: September 21st 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1555
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by