Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Deckchair Poets: Searchin' for a Lemon Squeezer

Progressive rock luminaries Nick D'Virgilio (drums) and Geoff Downes (keyboards) along with Lynden Williams (lead and backing vocals, percussion), Ollie Hannifan (guitars), Ashley Cutler (bass guitar, vocals), Rachael Hawnt (vocals), Ray Drury (keyboards), Will Wilde (blues harp) and Rob Aubrey (additional percussion) make up Britain's Deckchair Poets. There latest is titled Searchin' for a Lemon Squeezer, the follow up to the 2013 release Who Needs Pyjamas.

Some would have you believe this is progressive rock but that is clearly not the case. However, for a pop rock album this is good stuff. Ridiculously catchy riffs, melodic vocals and an overall uplifting vibe is what you get.

There are a total of seventeen tracks, some very short, as the band uses some of these tunes to apply their generous sense of humour. They don't take themselves too seriously and you can get the picture from some of the song titles. Songs like the catchy "God Loves An Idiot", reminding me of the late great Warren Zevon and the biting sarcasm of "Everybody Wants To Live In America", a heavier rocker, shows the band at its wittiest. Other highlights include the energetic new wave of "Quick Joey Small", the jaunty "Silicon Boobs", a shout out against plastic surgery and the infectious "Jerk" featuring Downe's Hammond organ, nice backing vocals and a delicious rock groove. There are plenty of other earworms for you to check out as well including the incredibly catchy and absorbing "Just Life", ending the album on a strong note. Lynden Williams' lead vocals are a real treat.

If you want a break from the heavy albums in your rotation and need something a little lighter to forget about your troubles, look no further than the Deckchair Poets. They just might put a smile on your face.

Track Listing:
1. Deckchair Poem 1
2. Jennifer Brown
3. Bad Is Bad
4. My Heartbreaker
5. We're All Chasing Peter Pan
6. God Loves An Idiot
7. People
8. Educating Rita
9. Everybody Wants To Live In America
10. Marmite
11. Quick Joey Small
12. The Bus Goes On
13. Jerk
14. We Like Tarts
15. I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down
16. Silicon Boobs
17. Just Life

Added: September 20th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1655
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by