Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Ugly: Decreation

As genres split and diversify it's sometimes nice to be served something that knows exactly where it's strengths lie and remains more than satisfied to thrive through it. Stockholm's The Ugly ensure with their second album, Decreation, such a thing. No-frills black metal created with such compelling conviction that to veer from the path would feel frivolous and a waste. Bands such as Dark Fortress or Marduk (drummer Fredrik Widigs shares his time between Marduk and The Ugly) are immediately brought to mind as the bashing drums pummel all in their path and vocalist Ingemar Gustafsson fires out a throaty rasp that puts so many of the guttural brigade in the shade – a weapon often reduced to caricature, given all it's violent fury once more. Bringing it all together however is the mighty triumvirate of bassist Joakim Antman and guitarists Johan Eriksson and Per Rinaldo, this threesome a pinpoint accurate explosion of fury. The utterly irresistible "Black Goat" a prime example of how to have all bowing down at the sheer majesty on offer.

Throughout, a keen eye is kept to ensure that the balance of brutality and detail never becomes blurred, as "Legio Mihi Nomen Est", "Slumber Of The Gods" and "I Am Death" romp with lethal intent, yet never at the expense of structure or clarity. The lyrical themes are, as expected, aimed squarely at this band's seeming distaste of Christianity and while a true black metal band will always struggle to convincingly break free of that particular prerequisite, if there's one area where The Ugly stumble, it is the safeness of their "dangerous" words. That however is a small qualm and one utterly outweighed by just how captivating the black metal storm this band can call at will, truly is.

Fans of extreme metal in general should have The Ugly marked down as a band to take note of, but for black metal-heads in particularly, Decreation is indispensable.

Track Listing
1. I Am Death
2. Black Goat
3. Legio Mihi Nomen Est
4. Crawl
5. Cult of Weakness
6. Slumber of the God
7. Decreation
8. Nibiru
9. Lögnerna till Aska

Added: September 19th 2015
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: The Ugly on Facebook
Hits: 1286
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by