Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Simulacrum: Sky Divided

Finland's Progressive Metal outfit, Simulacrum, have released their latest album, Sky Divided (Inverse Records). It is a vast effort that challenges and creates a listening experience for the listener. Sky Divided is a 9 track album with songs that ranges in length up to 14+ minutes, while never sacrificing their progressiveness.

The story and visual style of the album strongly reflect the interests of composer/keyboardist Chrism and lyricist/singer Niklas Broman. Theirs is a world of Sci-Fi literature, Computer gaming and movies that have helped shape the Science Fiction filled themes on Sky Divided as well as the imagery contained in the songs and the overall packaging of the physical CD. The cover art is quite spectacular depicting a futurist outcome in a Terminator type of end of society. Excellent art work and makes you wonder.

Songs have a futurist and symphonic feel through out the record. "Behind The Belt of Orion" has a furious staccato gallop to it which has an almost Fear Factory like aggression to it but delivered more in a Symphony X styled delivery with high pitched operatic vocals. "The Abomination" is a stand out track that takes on many stops and starts and creates different feels, while the album ending "A New Beginning" is the longest song on the record featuring great musicianship all around.

Prog Metal fans that like their music to be somewhat challenging and at times long winded would enjoy Simulacrum's brand of Prog Metal. While the musicianship is quite top notch, they do so to plod along at times and the vocals can also be a bit of a nerve tester. Former Yes vocalist, Jon Anderson singing an operatic style is the best comparison for when vocalist Niklas Broman stretches into the outer reaches of his range, but thankfully this is not something that Broman does all of the time. In fact when the vocals are more on the angst filled side, Broman's vocals are quite good.

All and all, Sky Divided is a technically proficient piece of music made by a group of talented musicians that will take you on a long journey through their musical exploration of modern Prog Metal. If you dig Scandinavian Power Metal mixed with highly technical Prog Metal, then you might have found your next band to crush on.

Track Listing
1. Timelapse
2. Behind The Belt Of Orion
3. Broken
4. Embrace The Animal Within
5. Deep In The Trenches
6. The Abomination
7. Sky Divided
8. Enter Hyperion
9. A New Beginning

Added: September 17th 2015
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1963
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by