Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Mad Max: Thunder, Storm and Passion

Thunder, Storm and Passion is the new Best of re-recorded offering from the German band, Mad Max, that rode part of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal tail back in the early 80's. This "Best Of" finds the band back in the studio tackling songs from their most popular period of 1984-1987 and named after the trio of albums from that era, Thunder (Rollin' Thunder) " Storm" (Stormchild) and Passion" (Night of Passion).

Mad Max's Melodic Metal has been kicked up a notch with this re-recording and more muscular modern production. The current line-up of Michael Voss – Lead Vocals, Lead Guitars, Jürgen Breforth – Rhythm Guitars, Thomas "Hutch" Bauer – Bass, Vocals, Axel Kruse – Drums, cruises through these classics of theirs with a more metallic sheen in 2015. Michael Voss' vocal harmonies are spot on as well as his fiery guitar playing. Full throttle rocker's like, "Stormchild" and "Heroes Die Lonely" are standouts for the heavier fans, while "Night of Passion" and those great vocal harmonies coupled with a catchy chorus will fill the void for the AOR music fans and CD Power Ballad closer, "Hearts On Fire" will have Def Leppard fans rejoicing.

Thunder, Storm and Passion comes in a nice Digipak package that also contains a second Live disc from the 2014 Bang Your Head Festival along with the re-recorded Best Of disc. This is truly a more bang for your buck deal and with the heavier new recording of these songs, this is a nice retrospective from a band with a 30+ year career and shows that these songs have held up well over the years.

CD 1 (Re-Recorded Classics)
1. Fly Fly Away 04:33
2. Losing You 04:08
3. Rollin`Thunder 04:24
4. Thoughts Of A Dying Man 05:58
5. Never Say Never 03:16
6. Lonely Is The Hunter 05:40
7. Stormchild 03:46
8. Heroes Die Lonely 03:37
9. Burning The Stage 05:35
10. Wait For The Night 04:21
11. Night Of Passion 03:52
12. Hearts On Fire 03:45

CD 2 (Bonus CD "Live at Bang Your Head Festival 2014")
1. Burning The Stage 05:23
2. Night Of Passion 03:53
3. Rolling Thunder 05:03
4. Wait For The Night 04:40
5. Lonely Is The Hunter 06:24
6. Never Say Never 03:52
7. Thoughts Of A Dying Man 06:19
8. Fox On The Run 06:25

Added: September 11th 2015
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1044
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by