Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Harlott: Proliferation

Well, Metal Blade Records has done it again, unleashing another Thrash Metal legend in the making with the Aussie band Harlott. Their sophomore album entitled Proliferation, is a dangerous, dangerous slab of Modern Thrash steeped in the old school Bay Area way of Metal. Fast and furious and with little choice in the matter, you WILL succumb to their treacherous ways and love it you shall.

Proliferation is Harlott's debut on the legendary Metal Blade label and what a debut it is, a 12 tracked soundtrack to devastation. Beginning with the album titled track, "Proliferation", you are thrown back into your seat when the massive opening riffing kicks in, with it's Nevermore-ish riff and then the punch to the stomach of pure unadulterated old school speed and power pummel your senses. Hooked? Yes you are!

Vocals are courtesy of Andrew Hudson and at times they are youthfully Araya flavored, but he is not a one trick pony here and even amidst his battle-cries, vocals are clear and angst filled. Ryan Butler and Hudson handle the guitar chores on Proliferation with a great modern tone and fleet of fingered precision. Tomas Richards and Tim Joyce round out the Bass and Drum duties for Harlott and just listening to Joyce's flying feet and Richards' pounding Bass keeping pace is a Metal marvel in endurance, these guys are as tight as hell!

Stand out tracks are easily the rambunctious riffing of "Denature" and it's sledgehammer pace, "Civil Unrest" with it's headbanging twin guitar opening harmony that then lends way to an Exodus-like Bay Area romp, while uber speedster, "Cross Contamination", is just baiting you to start your own Mosh Pit at work or school.

Proliferation is a 2015 Thrash Metal must have, plain and simple. This record is a no holds barred barrage of the senses and it feels so good. Beg, steal or borrow (and then never give it back) this record and remember that I told you about Harlott because hopefully we'll be hearing a lot more from this Melbourne, Australian band.

Track Listing

  1. Track Listing
  2. Proliferation
  3. Denature
  4. Systematic Reduction
  5. Restless
  6. The Fading Light
  7. Lord Of War
  8. Civil Unrest
  9. Hellbent
  10. Bloodlust
  11. Cross Contamination
  12. Legion
  13. Means To An End

Added: September 9th 2015
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1899
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by