Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kinetic Element: Travelog

Kinetic Element is a progressive rock band hailing from Richmond, Virginia. The band formed in 2006 and their debut album Powered by Light was released in 2009. Travelog is their second album.

The players are:
Mike Visaggio (keyboards)
Todd Russell (guitars, triangle)
Michael Murray (drums, percussion, whistling)
Mark Tupko (bass)

Also included are guest vocalists Dimetrius LaFavors (Odin's Court), Michelle Schrotz (Brave) and Mike Florio (Mass Dream Project).

For the last few years I have heard about this band but their music had escaped me so I was curious to give this one a listen. Kinetic Element play classic inspired progressive rock in the vein of Yes and Genesis but with their own artistic flair. Each member is an excellent musician and take the music through various thematic twists and turns all the while forming a cohesiveness that makes these five tunes highly enjoyable with many outstanding melodies to be had. The lead vocals are also a high point. Having multiple vocalists is an extremely smart move as it gives these tracks an added dimension that one vocalist simply could not have achieved.

The album is bookended by the two epics "War Song" and "Vision of a New Dawn". The former transitions between madrigal sounding keyboards, fine organ solos, ripping guitar parts and softer acoustic led sections while the latter is a wonderful slice of classic symphonic prog with spellbinding keyboards, thick bass lines and complex Howe-like guitar fills. The three songs in between are no less brilliant including the title track highlighted by Russell's fantastic acoustic guitar.

The album was mixed and mastered by Fred Schendel and Steve Babb of Glass Hammer and they did an excellent job as the album sounds great with tremendous dynamics and depth of sonic detail.

Travelog will certainly be in the running as among the best progressive rock albums of 2015 and one I whole heartedly recommend. Released on Melodic Revolution Records.

Track Listing:
1. War Song (20:30)
2. Travelog (9:51)
3. Into The Lair (10:14)
4. Her (11:31)
5. Vision of a New Dream (18:27)

Added: August 31st 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2372
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by