Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Operation Majority: Contact Lost

Contact Lost is the second full length album from Finnish 70s hard rocking outfit Operation Majority and while it would appear that it's been a long and arduous journey to see this album from inception to release (only two band members, Petri Kanga (guitar, bass, vocals) and Ilkka Harjula (drums, keyboards)) saw the project through, the end results were worth the effort. Style wise we're in the realms of Uriah Heep, Harjula driving the songs forward through his throbbing Hammond, Kangas matching him with strident riffs and yet things are more eclectic than might originally have been expected.

Unfortunately the album kicks off with "Feminist Rock", where it's hard to tell whether we're in lyrical piss take territory or not, Kangas's heavily accented vocals verging on impossible to decipher (although as you get used to his energetic, varied attack, it proves quite engaging). Although the up tempo musical romp convinces Operation Majority may just have something. "One In Crowd" confirms the suspicion, a mid paced steamroller of a song reminiscent of modern day Heep and damn fine it is too. "Sol Invictus" on the other hand sits on a steadier beat, a thunder of drums landing the song somewhere between The Cult and Clutch in rather satisfying style, while "My Beloved Late Winter Sun" decides instead to be a rich and full acoustic excursion. Things don't always quite go so smoothly, the staccato opening to "Plastic Cities" verging on chaotic, although the song itself rescues the situation, before a closing of "Flowers On The Grave", "Kol-Gol" and "Silent Boatmen" sprinkle prog and space magic on the harder rockin' themes; the lengthy instrumental outro to "...Boatman" proving utterly irresistible as Kangas tortures his guitar in the most uplifting of manners.

Two bonus tracks add value, maintaining the standard as they do so, and while for vocal purists some of Contact Lost may prove something of a challenge, it has to be said that Operation Majority turn out to be to be the most pleasant of surprises. Having added a drummer and a bassist to the ranks since this album was released (can I suggest a singer too...?) the future is looking bright for this outfit. If they can iron out the few little niggles that do crop up from time to time on this album, then release number three (which is due for recording later this year) could be a little corker.

Track Listing
1. Feminist Rock
2. One In Crowd
3. Sol Invictus
4. My Beloved Late Winter Sun
5. Plastic Cities
6. Flowers On The Grave
7. Kol-Gol
8. Silent Boatman
9. Begging Of A Tramp
10. Lady Of The Northern Lights

Added: August 30th 2015
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Operation Majority on Facebook
Hits: 1625
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by