Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kärbholz: Karma

This is the first release by Kärbholz in eight years. The band is best known as a punk band that is always true to themselves and to their musical vision, no matter where it takes them. I admire such honesty in general, but I found this album to be mostly disappointing. This album draws on lots of different musical styles and ideas, including country music, reggae, and something similar to old-time rock and roll. The band's injecting all this material into the music was occasionally interesting, but ultimately unconvincing. The best moments occur when the band creates a chuggy rhythm and sticks with it from start to finish (listen to "Tiefflieger," for one example). Such tracks were good enough, but they lacked the raw charm of other punk bands that draw on old rock and roll for inspiration.

Look, I realize that punk rock has multiple meanings, all of which could be debated. I won't say this band isn't punk—that's not my job. Nevertheless, punk rock should have more of an edge, something that makes it dangerous and aggressive. The music on this album steps away from all that by sticking to rhythms and melodies that are at once accessible and predictable. I think some listeners may enjoy the quasi-nostalgic feel of the 4/4 rhythms and the charm of the vocal lines. Most, however, will likely find that it feels tired and lacking in energy.

Track Listing:
1. Lass mich fliegen (Let Me Fly)
2. Die Dämonen in mir (The Demons in Me)
3. Kein Rock'n'Roll (No Rock 'n' Roll)
4. Das hier ist ewig (This is Forever)
5. Sink oder schwimm (Sink or Swim)
6. Es fühlt sich richtig an (It Feels Right)
7. Nichts von dem (Nothing)
8. (KxK)
9. Tiefflieger
10. Steh auf! (Stand Up!)
11. Ich will dich (nie wieder sehen) (I Want You / Never See Again)
12. Abschied (Farewell)
13. Wenn Musik da ist (If Music is There)
14. Seite an Seite (Side by Side)
15. Lauter! (Loud!)

Added: August 27th 2015
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Web Page
Hits: 1214
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by