Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Herrington, Will: Solace

Will Herrington is a young jazz pianist based out of Los Angeles but was born in New Orleans and that's where his musical roots truly lie. He has a deft of touch and soulful expression that is really quite exceptional. Of course, he isn't the only musician here. Rounding out the band are Jon Richards (bass), Andrew Boyle (drums), Ambrose Akinmusire (trumpet on tracks 4 and 8) and Kiel Feher (percussion on track 8).

Solace consists of eight tracks totaling about thirty-eight minutes. Not very long but every note is pure quality. This is excellent blues flavoured jazz with Herrington's melodically refined piano lines the main focal point. That is not to say the other musicians are not up to the challenge as that is clearly not the case. In the nostalgic ballad "Bywater" the bass solo is excellent and the music has a smoky jazz room feel. In the album opening "Jockamo" the playing is fresh and vibrant with rollicking piano lines and complicated drum work but played with a delicate finesse that the best jazz demands. "The Chief Speaks" is an upbeat jaunty piece with blues tinged piano that absolutely shines throughout the song's five minute running time. Another fine track is the bluesy "Elegy" having a nostalgic feel longing for a bygone era. Akinmusire's trumpet soars throughout the piece. "Waiting For A Train" has that same romantic feel with swinging rhythms and uplifting piano. The last track "Ballad Of Marie Laveau" is a lovely piece highlighted with gorgeous trumpet and piano. As the song traverses through its melodic lines it is easy to let yourself drift off with the music as there is a timeless feel here that is hard to describe.

Solace is a gorgeous sounding album and one would swear these musicians have been playing together for decades. For that reason this is easily recommended for anyone remotely interested in piano led jazz and blues.

Track Listing:
1. Jockamo
2. Bywater
3. The Chief Speaks
4. Elegy
5. Waiting For A Train
6. Restoration
7. Don't You Come Struttin' In Here
8. Ballad of Marie Laveau

Added: August 24th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Bandcamp Page
Hits: 1683
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by