Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Shadow Gallery: Double Feature

Here is another Double Feature release from Magna Carta, this time featuring the outstanding progressive group Shadow Gallery. And one thing is for sure with Shadow Gallery they always feature stellar musicianship and some of the best vocals in the business. After the progressive rockers Magellan Shadow Galley were actually the second group to sign to the label. With a range of progressive, rock and metal influences by the likes of Queen, Rush, Alice Cooper, Pink Floyd, Yngwie Malmsteen, Metallica, Steve Vai, Gamma Ray and Iron Maiden. Shadow Gallery like Threshold is a name associated with quality having released albums that rival, and even surpassing some of those recorded by more prominent progressive groups. Once against it's the band's first two albums that are being re-released together and in this case that is the self-titled album Shadow Gallery and Carved In Stone.

As debuts go Shadow Gallery is a predominantly enjoyable introduction to the band's most agreeable style that they would build on with future releases. Vibrant tracks like "The Dance Of Fools", "Darktown" and "Questions At Hand" and the shifting mammoth closing tune "The Queen Of The City Of Ice" are some of the standouts. Shadow Gallery offered a more complete and memorable package with Carved In Stone which remains a gem of an album starting with the wonderful progressive numbers "Cliffhanger" and "Crystalline Dream" and culminating with the epic "Ghostship" and they are just some of the great songs on offer. Of course Shadow Gallery would go on to release some of progressive music's finest recordings though it has been a while since their last album Digital Ghosts. Which was also first since the death of vocalist and one of the founding members Mike Barker. As far as my rating for this Double Feature goes while the more consistent Carved In Stone is a 4.5 Shadow Gallery gets a 3.5 so then 4/5 seems fitting overall.

Track Listing
"Shadow Gallery"
1. The Dance Of Fools
2. Darktown
3. Mystified
4. Questions At Hand
5. The Final Hour
6. Say Goodbye To The Morning
7. The Queen Of The City Of Ice

"Carved In Stone"
1. Cliffhanger
2. Crystalline Dream
3. Don't Ever Cry, Just Remember
4. Warcry
5. Celtic Princess
6. Deeper Than Life
7. Alaska
8. Ghostship

Added: August 23rd 2015
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1920
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by