Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Karnataka: Secrets of Angels

I have only recently started listening to the band Karnataka having picked up their 2010 release The Gathering Light. It is a stunning album so I was more than happy to receive their brand new album Secrets of Angels.

Throughout the band's history there has been some momentous lineup changes and gone from the band are vocalist Lisa Fury, drummer Ian Harris and keyboard player Gonzalo Carrera. They have been replaced by the classically trained Hayley Griffiths (vocals), Jimmy Pallagrosi (drums, percussion) and Çağri Tozluoğlu (keyboards, programming). They are joined by original member Ian Jones (bass, keyboards, bass pedals, programming, vocals) and Enrico Pinna (lead, rhythm and acoustic guitars, vocals).

I have to say with all the lineup changes the band didn't miss a beat as Secrets of Angels is another excellent disc from the UK proggers. The first track "Road To Cairo" is a high energy rocker filled with outstanding strings, lush keyboards and melodic lead guitar. The lushly symphonic "Because Of You" is another up-tempo rocker with some blistering guitar and sublime lead vocals from Griffiths. A Gothic rock approach can be heard on "Poison Ivy" with the band almost veering into metal territory. Tozluoğlu lays down an excellent synth solo.

Other stand out tracks include the ultra-catchy "Forbidden Dreams", and the soaring "Feels Like Home" and "Borderline", with the latter having the biggest earworm on the disc. The vocals, both lead and backing are outstanding.

The twenty minute title track ends the disc in fine style where guest musician Troy Donockley puts his uilleann pipes and whistles to work in an outstanding intro of haunting sounds and folk-like atmospheres. As the other instruments enter and the music builds the band bursts at the seams as orchestral swells and heavier riffs take the song into majestic symphonic rock.

The CD also comes with a DVD which I did not receive with my review copy. Included is a film on the making of the album and other bonus material.

Secrets of Angels is a melodic and beautifully crafted symphonic album with a striking production and excellent sound quality. A must have for fans of melodic/symphonic rock. Released on Immrama Records.

Track Listing:
1. Road To Cairo
2. Because Of You
3. Poison Ivy
4. Forbidden Dreams
5. Borderline
6. Fairytale Lies
7. Feels Like Home
8. Secrets Of Angels
1. Secrets Of Angels 'Making Of' Film
2. Bonus Material

Added: July 30th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 3137
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by