Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Apogee: The Art Of Mind

More often than not one man projects are missing the necessary ingredients to make a well-rounded album but that is not the case with the German project Apogee. The project is the brainchild of multi-instrumentalist Arne Schäfer as he plays almost everything himself including lead and backing vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, keyboards and fretted and fretless basses. Eberhard Graef adds drums and percussion. Schäfer also plays keyboards in the progressive rock band Versus X.

His new release is titled The Art Of Mind and it is simply a striking progressive rock album beginning with the title track, a five part epic totaling almost twenty minutes in length. Searing yet melodic guitar solos, wonderful keyboards and synths and smooth transitions between softer and heavier moments. He also adds spoken word vocals that work very well in context with the music. On "Inside the Wheel" fluid bass and excellent guitar and keyboard interaction are highlights as well as lush Mellotron choirs fleshing out the sound. Schäfer's vocals may be an acquired taste for some but I really enjoy his Hammill-like voice. "The Games You Play" is a heavier track with Schäfer's more dramatic vocal delivery, wailing guitar, heavy riffs and moody darker toned synths. Then the music stops and delicate acoustic guitar takes hold before flute and violin synths take the music into heavier territory once again leading to one of the finest guitar solos on the disc. Fans of heavier prog are going to love this tune. "The Price to Pay" is a little mellower with lush orchestrations and tasty acoustic guitar. The last track "Sea of Dreams" creates a dense soundscape including big organ swells, excellent riff progressions and another cooking guitar solo.

There has been some excellent music released so far in 2015 and you can add The Art of Mind to the list. It is a wonderful album and one I highly recommend.

Released on Progressive Promotion Records.

Track Listing:

1. The Art of Mind (19:54)
a. Psychocosmic Order
b. Across the Border
c. The Dividing Point
d. The Ultimate Perception
e. Footprints
2. Inside the Wheel (8:56)
3. The Games You Play (9:31)
4. The Price to Pay (8:06)
5. Sea of Dreams (9:05)

Added: July 27th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1996
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by