Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

OHO: Where Words Do Not Reach (The Instrumentals)

Baltimore based OHO has its roots going all the way back to 1970 but the band officially began in 1973. The original band members were Mark O'Connor, Steve Heck, Joe O'Sullivan, Jay Graboski and Larry Bright. What is really cool to see is how the band has been revived in recent years, certainly an exciting time in the OHO camp.

Where Words Do Not Reach is their new album, an archival collection of their instrumental works dating back to 1975 and ending with a couple of new tunes. A word of warning; OHO will not be for everyone, especially if you stick more to the mainstream. For the more adventuresome listener there is a lot to appreciate here starting with the intense album opening "Board Organ" where furious drumming, off kilter keyboards and fiery guitar run amok in an all-out progressive psychedelic jam. "Nocturnal Recurrence" is another solid track and very heavy on the keyboards while "Albumblatt" is an excellent all acoustic guitar number with impressive fret work from O'Sullivan and serves as a nice reprieve from the previous chaos. "Motion of Motion" is another fine acoustic guitar piece followed by the much heavier "Snow Lady/I Crawled" where the band's eclecticism shows up in the form of wild keyboard sounds and a somewhat darker theme. The band continues its genre hopping with the pop inspired "Aubrey Circle Dance" and the feel good country grooves in Non-Sex Nonsense". The album ends with two new tracks, "Slough of Despond" and "Unique", both having a more refined sound with the latter featuring mostly piano and Gabroski's treated guitar chords.

For those of you unfamiliar with OHO this might be a good place to start as it covers a wide range of styles and sounds, enhanced by the band's eclectic arrangements and tuneful songwriting. Fans of progressive/psychedelic rock should certainly find much to enjoy.

Favourite tracks: "Nocturnal Recurrence", "Snow Lady/I Crawled and "Unique".

Track Listing:
1. Board Organ (1974) (7:33)
2. Nocturnal Recurrence (1975) (3:13)
3. Albumblatt (1976) (3:19)
4. Hogshead (Slight Return) (1974) (0:32)
5. Motion of Motion (1976) (1:46)
6. Snow Lady/I Crawled (edit) (1976) (3:23)
7. Aubrey Circle Dance (1977) (4:10)
8. I Could Not See Till I Opened My Eyes (1977) (5:13)
9. House party (1977) (3:05)
10. Trick or Treat? (1977) (4:01)
11. She Could've Been Munroe (1977) (1:29)
12. Dog Lane (1977) (3:30)
13. Non-Sex Nonsense (1977) (2:40)
14. Nazi Dog Jam (1976) (16:45)
15. Scared Money (1987) (2:56)
16. Peradam (1990) (2:36)
17. Arclight (2010) (3:53)
18. Slough of Despond (2015) (4:31)
19. Unique (2015) (4:58)

Added: July 23rd 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2019
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by