Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Giovanni Guidi Trio: This Is The Day

Giovanni Guidi is an up and coming Italian pianist who now has his second release This Is The Day for ECM under his belt. The rest of the trio is Thomas Morgan (double bass) and Jošo Lobo (drums).

Melancholic, serene, subtle, mysterious, those are just a few adjectives that describe This Is The Day. Throughout the disc Guidi's sad and somewhat enigmatic piano lines twist and wind like a stream flowing down a darkly hued plain. The songs rarely increase in pace, preferring to settle into a slower meandering groove. Guidi gives his fellow musicians the necessary time and space so each one is able to shine on their respective instruments. That said, this is not about over the top showmanship. The bass and drum work is often complex but in a subtle, more refined way. There is a nice combination of wistful melodicism and freer playing.

The first track "Trilly" features melancholic piano and exceptional drumming, showing the necessary finesse and restraint this music demands. It is serene yet complex and has the ability to transport the listener into a dream-like state if one so chooses. Waves of piano and intricate cymbal tapping highlight the wistful "Carried Away" as it does in the even more forlorn "Game Of Silence" where Morgan's bass reaches for deeper and lighter tones and all the players bristle with intensity as the song flows from calming soundscapes to more intense moments. "The Cobweb" is one of the more experimental pieces and more than a little unsettling, especially Guidi's intense piano workouts.

This Is The Day is a modern jazz album executed with both finesse and class with just the right amount of improvisation and melody. Those who like to explore jazz music outside the realm of the mundane should probably check it out.

Track Listing:
1. Trilly (5:19)
2. Carried Away (6:07)
3. Game Of Silence (7:27)
4. The Cobweb (3:15)
5. Baiiia (6:04)
6. The Debate (4:46)
7. Where They'd Live (10:39)
8. Quizas quizas quizas (6:48)
9. Migration (1:41)
10. Trilly var. (4:58)
11. I'm Through With Love (8:36)
12. The Night It Rained Forever (7:44)

Added: July 21st 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 856
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by