Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Breznev Fun Club: il misantropo felice

Italian band Breznev Fun Club have recently released their sophomore effort il misantropo felice. Really, the band's name speaks for itself but whether you will have fun listening to their latest is up to you. One thing you can be sure of, there are no dull moments here as this is some of the most intense, bewildering and complex music I have listened to in a long time.

The project was formed in the early '90s by Rocco Lomonaco and the bulk of the music was originally written in 1999/2000. The album was recorded between 2012 and 2014 by the following musicians:

Antonio Dambra (flute, piccolo)
Francesco Larenza (oboe, English horn)
Francesco Manfredi (clarinet)
Michele Motola (alto saxophone)
Gianfranco Menzella (tenor, baritone saxophone)
Riccardo Rinaldi (bassoon)
Vito Verni (French horn)
Francesco Panico (trumpet)
Francesco Tritto (trombone)
Alessio Anzivino (tuba)
Giuliana Di Mitrio (mezzo-soprano)
Michele Fracchiolla (drums, vibraphone, marimba, percussions)
Simona Armenise (classic, acoustic and electric guitars, mandolin)
Rocco Lomonaco (classic, acoustic and electric guitars, banjo)
Tommaso De Vito Francesco (electric and double bass)
Giuseppe Manfredi (keyboards)
Duilio Maci (violin)
Grazia De Vito Francesco (violin)
Paola De Candia (cello)

As you can see from the above list of musicians this is quite an ensemble of talent as they take these eight compositions and twist and turn between avant-garde progressive and chamber rock. There is so much happening your head will be spinning for days. Just when you think the music will settle into a calming groove, all chaos breaks loose and its full bore orchestral mayhem. What is truly outstanding are the melodies buried amidst the madness. You will hear crashing rhythms, intense orchestral workouts, dreamy atmospheres and everything else you can think of. There is really no point in describing individual tracks as this is an album you need to hear for yourself and go from there. Of course, with music as complex as this you really need to listen a few times to let it all sink in. Once it does it will provide hours of listening enjoyment.

An AltrOck Production.

Track Listing:
1. Il misantropo felice I (A Window Closes) (3:34)
2. Il misantropo felice II (Putamen) (7:26)
3. Il misantropo felice III (Beginners Dance Lessons) (3:23)
4. Il misantropo felice IV (Petit déjeuner chez Picabia (5:51)
5. Il misantropo felice V (Sperduto nella camera isterica) (8:12)
6. Il misantropo felice VI (Le furieux hypothétique) (3:51)
7. Il misantropo felice VII (Tzig Tzag Tzara) (5:51)
8. Il misantropo felice VIII (After the Last Silence) (11:44)

Added: July 21st 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1221
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by