Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Black Space Riders: Refugeeum

Until now, this is the first I have heard German outfit Black Space Riders. They released their self-titled debut in 2010. Refugeeum is the band's fourth release.

The band members include:

JE (lead vocals, guitars, organ, beats)
SEB (lead vocals)
C.RIP (drums and percussion)
SLI (guitars)
SAQ (bass guitar)
HEVO (additional bass guitar)

Judging from their name you might think this to be a space rock band and that is partly true. Mostly however, the band incorporates elements of post rock, psychedelic and doom metal. The album begins with "Vortex Sun", a stunning cosmic ride with a spacey intro of sound effects, ethereal vocals and shimmering guitars before the drums slowly get louder and the music gets much more intense. The alternative metal of "Universal Bloodlines" is a catchy number with the guitar a little grungier as is "Born A Lion (Homeless)", this time with half talking half singing vocal lines with cool echo effects. "The Lure (Come With Us)" is another heavy number with a repeating vocal line and chiming guitar chords whereas the ten minute plus "Run To The Plains" is firmly entrenched in stoner rock atmospherics and heavier guitar dominated soundscapes. The vocals are both monochromatic and edgier at times with the ending featuring Gregorian chanting and gothic infused organ. "Curtains Of Death" is another cool atmospheric tune with a great build that evolves into heavier territory. "Melek's Lament (Yazidi Tears)" features another awesome build where mellower soundscapes suddenly explode with metallic intensity.

After listening to Refugeeum I look forward to digging into the rest of their back catalogue as it is a fine release from a band that surely deserves more attention than it has received thus far. An excellent four stars it is.

Track Listing:
1. Vortex Sun
2. Universal Bloodlines
3. Born A Lion (Homeless)
4. The Lure (Come With Us)
5. Run To The Plains
6. Curtains Of Death
7. Melek's Lament (Yazidi Tears)
8. Walking Shades
9. Ritual Of Inner Strength

Added: July 19th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1879
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by