Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Grok: The Anthology 1964-2014

Before Baltimore based OHO, there was Grok, another Baltimore based band from the early '70s, which included OHO future member J.P. Graboski. The band recorded a series of demos but never were able to sign a record deal. Fast forward to 2014 and the release of The Anthology 1964-2014.

The players are the aforementioned Graboski (animoog, guitar, vocals, tambourine), Robert Funk (bass guitar), Dale German (banjo, bass, guitars, harmonica, percussion, vocals), Don Henritz (drums), Bill Joy (vocals, percussion) and Colette Kelly (vocals).

Most of the tracks are from 1972/73, although the music spans fifty years and all have been lovingly produced by the band and Bill Pratt.

This is certainly music of its time; blues based hard rock with psychedelic overtones and the occasional nod to country and folk. Early Jethro Tull would be a good reference point.

The album begins with "Porcupine Time" and its intro of spacey effects before quickly hitting into full bore psychedelic rock with solid vocals and bluesy guitar riffs. More hard rock follows with "Hopeless" and "Insanity", both melodic and catchy with the latter featuring the band's homage to the classic '70s Pepsi commercial added at the end. "That She Is You" bares a strong resemblance to The Byrds with its strong lead vocals and jangly guitar chords while "Spider Lady" is all bluesy hard rock in the vein of Cream.

The most recent tune "C.R.S", an acoustic ditty, was recorded in 2014 and showcases the band's tongue and cheek humour with lyrics referring to the act of forgetfulness.

The album's centerpiece is the fifteen minute jam "The Lady & the Serpent", a nice slice of nostalgia that drips with a psychedelic guitar sound that was so prevalent at the time.

There is certainly a lot of music to enjoy with this anthology. If you are a fan of early '70s hard rock you will find much to love. Released on OHO Music.

Track Listing:
1. Porcupine Time (3:41)
2. Hopeless (4:18)
3. Insanity (4:22)
4. We Never Wanted This (3:04)
5. That She Is You (3:35)
6. C.R.S (3:02)
7. The Lady & the Serpent (15:17)
8. Hopeless (live) (5:05)
9. Feelin' Inside (4:38)
10. Spider Lady (5:41)
11. Cannonball Station (3:40)
12. Keep the Changes Comin' (5:17)
13. Gravel In My Shoe (3:46)
14. Anybody Drinkin' But Me? (3:32)
15. Turtle Neck Sweaters (2:21)
16. Love In Vain (2:06)

Added: July 19th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: CD Baby Website
Hits: 1561
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by