Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Thrust: Reincarnation (Re-Issue)

Even though I label this album as a re-issue, that's not exactly right. This album was recorded in the late 1980s, but it was never officially released. Fans are only now getting full exposure to the music here. I don't know the history behind this album—is it one of those albums that were rumored to exist but never saw the light of day?

I recently posted a review of this band's debut album Fist Held High, a classic example of old school metal. This album shows much of the same promise as that debut, especially in songs like "War" and "Wasted." By this stage, the band had certainly honed its classic metal style and was poised to march alongside other heavy metal giants. In some ways, this album is a bit darker, less interested in offering anthems to heavy metal and taking up, instead, songs about real human problems. As a whole, the album shows a growing maturity that was clearly necessary by the late 80s, especially since heavy metal seemed to be giving way to the showy and radio-friendly sound of hair metal. Sure, there's still plenty of that 80s bravado and chest-thumping, but it works well enough. Unfortunately, the album never appeared and the band eventually fell into silence.

There's no denying that this is a very good installment of 80s metal from a band that deserved more. I liked this album except for "Scream Girl Scream," some kind of twisted rape fantasy, sung from the point of view of a madman.

I also recommend the demo tracks, especially "Intensity" and "Psycho Killer."

Track Listing:
1. War
2. Scream Girl Scream
3. God Only Knows
4. Hypocrite
5. Never Too Young
6. Wasted
7. The Fool
8. Get Crazy
9. Cheater
10. Fit of Rage
11. Intensity (Instrumental Demo)
12. No Mercy (Demo)
13. Rockin the Night (Demo)
14. Back on the Street (Demo)
15. Evil Redeemer (Demo)
16. Psycho Killer (Demo)
17. Fist Held High (Demo)
18. Stand Up and Fight (Demo)

Added: July 11th 2015
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1746
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by