Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Yannatou, Savina: Songs of Thessaloniki

Savina Yannatou is a Greek vocalist with a new album titled Songs of Thessaloniki. Her band consists of six other members playing a wide range of instruments including some of the exotic variety like oud, qanun, and nay and more traditional fare like accordion, violin, percussion, double bass and guitar.

Thessaloniki, located in Northern Greece, is the artist's hometown and it is subject of these seventeen songs. The songs mostly cover the traditional folk music of the Balkans, the Middle East, and Greece and offers quite a rich sonic palette of delicate instrumentation.

This is an extremely mellow disc with more than a hint of melancholy underlying the songs with Yannatou's angelic voice leading the way. Fans of ethnic folk music, particularly that of the Middle East, will probably enjoy this one.

Track Listing:
1. Apolitikion Agiou Dimitriou
2. A La Scola Del Allianza
3. Tin Patrida Mou Ehasa
4. Dimo Is Solun Hodeshe
5. La Contiga Del Fuego
6. Una Muchacha En Selanica
7. Iptidadan Yol Sorarsan
8. Qele-Qele
9. Calin Davullari
10. To Yelekaki
11. Salonika
12. Inchu Bingyole Mdar?
13. Jelana Solun Devojko
14. Yedi-Koule
15. Poulakin Eiha Se Klouvi
16. Pismo Dojde Od Soluna Grada
17. Apolitikion Agiou Dimitriou

Added: July 2nd 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1825
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by