Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

DiMino: Old Habits Die Hard

Most will remember Frank DiMino as the lead singer of the band Angel, who delivered a handful of very solid albums in the late '70s but never quite managed to achieve the success of their Casablanca labelmates KISS. Here we are many years later, and the vocalist is releasing a solo album for Frontiers Records, titled Old Habits Die Hard, bringing with him a slew of special guests that include former Angel member Punky Meadows, Oz Fox (Stryper), Jeff Duncan (Armored Saint), Pat Thrall (Hughes-Thrall/ Pat Travers Band) Eddie Ojeda (Twisted Sister), Rickey Medlocke (Lynyrd Skynyrd/Blackfoot), keyboard player Justin Avery, bassists Danny Miranda & Paul Crook, drummer John Miceli, as well as another ex-Angel member Barry Brandt, who helped co-write one track ("Even Now"). Fans of Angel's melodic hard rock sound will find lots to enjoy here on Old Habits Die Hard.

I'm happy to report that DiMino's voice has held up quite well over the years, as the singer is in fine form on hard rockers such as "Never Again", "Rockin' In the City", and "The Rains About to Fall", each one of these fine tunes delivering plenty of hooks, muscular guitar work, and tasty keyboards. "Tears Will Fall" is more of a moody rocker, Frank's vocals soaring over heavy riffs and ominous organ, while "Mad As Hell" is a more of a raging, speedy ripper filled with nasty, snarling guitar riffs & solos. "Sweet Sensation" and "The Quest" will instantly remind listeners of classic Angel, the vocalist strutting his stuff over a wealth of kick ass riffs and menacing organ as if it was 1979 all over again. Throw in a few tender ballads and you have an enjoyable, well balanced album of memorable melodic rock fare that has plenty of appeal.

Word has it that Frank DiMino will be taking this album on the road, so it will be interesting to see the band he puts together to bring these songs to life in a live setting, as well as what Angel classics he chooses to mix into the set. Old Habits Die Hard is a very solid, and welcome return from an 'angel'.

Track Listing
01.Never Again
02.Rockin In The City
03.I Cant Stop Loving You
04.The Rains About To Fall
05.Even Now
06.Tears Will Fall
07.Mad As Hell
08.Sweet Sensation
09.Tonights The Night
10.The Quest
11.Stones By The River

Added: June 22nd 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist @ Frontiers Records
Hits: 1308
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by