Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kalma, Ariel: An Evolutionary Music (Original Recordings: 1972-1979)

An Evolutionary Music compiles two discs of unreleased, archived music from the multi-textured, chameleonic universe of Ariel Kalma. The archive installment series from Brooklyn based label RVNG Intl has created the perfect outlet to bring Kalma's eclectic and unique sounds to the forefront where they belong.

Born in France, Kalma is the true definition what it means to be a "world citizen", as his travels have taken him to places all over our planet, since he first began honing his musical craft at the famed INA GRM studios in Paris in the early 70's. If you're familiar with his vast body of work, you're probably keenly aware that not only does his music blur the lines of ambient and electronic music, but also that it stretches outside of the physical realm and possesses spiritual qualities that probe the cosmos and tap into the hypnotic capabilities of the mind. If you haven't experienced the later, than hopefully one listen to this fantastic compilation should change your mind or at least bring you to more of an awareness of what it means to experience an artist who has stuck to his vision and belief that spirit and music are one in the same.

The twenty one compositions offered here are compiled from Kalma's privately pressed records and limited cassette tape releases, that highlight his love of the natural sounds of field recordings, looped sax and modal flute melodies, coupled with ambient electronic and world music elements. Although at times the source recordings may come across as sounding a bit spotty, it is the spirit of the music and the time and place in which it was created that is what is really important here. Any source limitations are quickly forgotten and eclipsed by the truly magical, thought provoking and hypnotic performances captured on these recordings. Ariel Kalma has always been a pioneer and these recordings are a testament to that.

As with their previous releases in this archive series RVNG have once again done a fantastic job with the packaging on the physical edition. The double disc CD version comes housed in a sleekly designed slip case and the booklet contains not only some great B&W photos, but the liner notes reveal a plethora of information that not only provides insight into his recording techniques, but also offer up a concise overview of his career as well.

Track Listing
1) Almora Sunrise
2) Ecstasy Musical Mind Yoga
3) Echorgan
4) Chase Me Now
5) Enuej Elleiv
6) Sister Echo
7) Les Mots De Tous Les Jours (Reves Etranges)
8) Rainy Day
9) What Would You Say
10) Voltage Controlled Wave
11) Les Etoiles Sont Allumees
12) Montparnasse Morocco
13) Head Noises
14) Asalam Yamarek
15) Sazz Tabla (Edit)
16) Devil Forest Spirit
17) Echo Planetarium (Edit)
18) Sunset Inside
19) Ma-A-E-A
20) Love And Dream
21) Yogini Breath

Added: June 16th 2015
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: RVNG Intl.
Hits: 1429
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by