Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rush: 2112 - Hologram Edition vinyl reissue

We're nearing the middle of the "the year of Rush", as this forty year old band's catalogue receives a full vinyl reissue. For many the pinnacle of that canon of work comes in the shape of 2112, so it is fitting that something a little different has been reserved for that reissue in particular. Music collectors are used to special packs, with vinyl releases of days gone by offering up posters, patches, coloured versions, even free cardboard guitars, masks or metal pin badges. However few, Styx "laser etched" version of Paradise Theater springs to mind, have tried to enhance the good old black vinyl. However with the cover of 2112 famous for its "red star of the federation", so we have a hologram edition where the run-off after the songs have finished on the record itself contains, if you hold a suitable LED light over the spinning record at the right angle, a rather smart "star hologram" which remains spookily stationary as the record continues to rotate. Gimmick? You betcha, but it is rather cool and it certainly had the music and non-music lovers in my house cooing over it. As daft, unnecessary reasons to buy an album go, it's quite a good one and one serious Rush collectors won't want to be without.

Unlike CD reissues, there's no bonus tracks, alternate mixes, or hidden sections and that's the true bonus, for what you have here is pure 2112, no more, no less and who could want for anything else? All this comes on 200g, "high fidelity" vinyl and with a free download card for those who maybe wish to see the hologram emerge without ever actually violating the grooves.

What of 2112 itself? Well, what can I tell you about this album you don't already know? Seriously if you've read this far, then you don't need me to tell you that this 1976 album featuring, among many stand outs, "The Temples Of Syrinx" and "A Passage To Bangkok" is a downright classic. Even all these years down the line there's a whole host of reasons to get excited as Lee, Lifeson and Peart hit top gear time and again. Yes, the sci-fi concept may be a little hokey in 2015, but Peart's thought provoking lyrics have stood the test of time without missing a beat. Put simply, if you love Rush, you love 2112, really that's all there is to it and this excellent sounding version (unlike some recent vinyl reissues) is a wonderful way to re-experience it.

Track Listing
1. 2112
I Overture
II The Temples Of Syrinx
III Discovery
IV Presentation
V Oracle: The Dream
VI Oliloquy
VII Grand Finale
2. A Passage To Bangkok
3. The Twilight Zone
4. Lessons
5. Tears
6. Something For Nothing

Added: May 30th 2015
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Rush online
Hits: 2261
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by