Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

La Coscienza di Zeno: La Notte Anche di Giorno

La Coscienza di Zeno is an Italian progressive rock band from Italy. They formed in 2007 in the city of Genoa and released their self-titled debut in 2011, followed by Sensitivitą in 2013. Their brand new album is titled La Notte Anche di Giorno and for anyone into Italian prog this one is a must purchase.

In the band are Gabriele Guidi Colombi (bass), Andrea Orlando (drums, percussion), Alessio Calandriello (vocals), Stefano Agnini (solina, Elka Synthex, VCS3, Mini Moog, KeyB Organ), Davide Serpico (electric and acoustic guitar), Luca Scherani (Yamaha acoustic grand piano, Korg Sigma, Crumar Multiman S3, Elka Rhapsody, Korg MS20, Hammond B3, Mellotron M4000D, bouzouki) and Domenico Ingenito (violin).

That is quite the list of instruments and as you can well imagine keyboards and synths dominate the sound. The band has created a wonderful progressive rock album filled with gorgeous melodies and tremendous musicality. The playing is top notch and the songs are quite complex but always highly listenable. Violin also dominates the soundscape creating lush rhythms only adding to the richness of the music. The use of guitar is more subtle but is there nonetheless adding some nice solos and crunch as in the dynamic "Lenta Discesa all'Averno", a lovely slice of intricate symphonic rock. The rocking "Il Paese Ferito" also features tasty guitar and synth lines along with splashes of B3 to give it a retro feel. The music travels effortlessly between light and heavier constructs with the violin adding some beautiful melodic moments throughout.

Perhaps the album's catchiest moments can be found in the first two tracks; "A Ritroso" and "Il Giro del Cappio". Lovely symphonic arrangements and an emotional vocal performance from Calandriello are definite highlights. His lower to mid-range vocals are a treat to listen to.

La Notte Anche di Giorno stays to true to classic Italian prog but with a modern touch and excellent production. A fabulous album and very deserving of four stars. Released on Fading Records/ AltRock Productions.

Track Listings:
Giovane Figlia
1. A Ritroso (5:26)
2. Il Giro del Cappio (5:22)
3. Libero Pensatore (5:12)
4. Quiete Apparente (1:37)
5. Impromptu pour S.Z. (1:10)
6. Lenta Discesa all'Averno (5:12)
Madre Antica
7. Il Paese Ferito (5:52)
8. Cavanella (3:09)
9. La Staffetta (4:01)
10. Come Statua di Dolore (7:06)

Added: May 17th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2362
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by