Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Not A Good Sign: From A Distance

Here is another gem of a CD, this time courtesy of Italian progressive rock band Not A Good Sign. The band formed in 2012 and released their self-titled debut in 2013. From A Distance is the first I have heard from the band and suffice to say I am dutifully impressed.

In the band are Paolo Botta (Ske, Yugen) on keyboards, Francesco Zago (Yugen) on electric guitars, Alessio Calandriello (La Coscienza di Zeno) on vocals, Alessandro Cassini (electric bass, double bass, vocals) and Martino Malacrida (drums). There are also a number of guest musicians adding guitar, grand piano, oboe, English horn, vibraphone and glockenspiel. Franscesco Zago left shortly after making the album with Marco Trevisan taking his place.

This isn't happy go lucky prog so if you are looking for uplifting music you should look elsewhere. However, if you dig eclectic progressive rock with a melancholic wistfulness, From A Distance just might be an album for you.

Songs like the album opening "Wait For Me" have a sorrowful edge with floating Rhodes piano and plenty of Hammond B3. Heavier guitar rhythms with complex chord progressions slow down into more pastoral soundscapes. "Going Down" is a lovely ballad before the temperature heats up and the piano sets a more furious pace. The keyboards throughout the album are excellent as the band makes good use of analog sounds, bringing back a '70s classic prog sound. "Flying Over Cities" features a tasty guitar groove and wonderful shifts in tempo. "Not Now" starts as a lovely ballad featuring incredibly emotive lead vocals and rich English horn before powerful riffs are injected and the pace is quickened. Raging organ and guitar complete the package.

One of the prettiest tracks is "I Feel Like Snowing" featuring another incredible performance from Calandriello. As in many of these tracks the tempo quickens with excellent guitar work and some fabulous high pitched vocals before returning to a more relaxed pace. The mood is again melancholic. The rest of the tracks are equally as rewarding.

Italian progressive rock is alive and well thanks to bands like Not A Good Sign. From A Distance is an album I highly recommend. Released on Fading Records/AltrOck Productions.

Track Listing:
1. Wait For Me (5:07)
2. Going Down (4:19)
3. Flying Over Cities (5:00)
4. Not Now (5:09)
5. Aru Hi No Yoru Deshita (3:41)
6. Pleasure Of Drowning (5:54)
7. I Feel Like Snowing (7:21)
8. Open Window (7:26)
9. The Diary I Never Wrote (5:34)
10. Farewell (1:57)

Added: May 17th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1617
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by